Beside a Burning Sea

Beside a Burning Sea

Discuss the significance of the title Beside a Burning Sea. Additionally, the original title was The Poet Makers. Which title do you prefer? Why? 2. Did Beside a Burning Sea provide you with a better understanding of World War II?

Author: John Shors

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 9781440630071

Category: Fiction

Page: 448

View: 964

From the author of Beneath a Marble Sky comes an inspiring new novel of a man and a woman from different worlds whose love is put to the ultimate test as they struggle to survive an extraordinary set of circumstances. View our feature on John Shors' Beside a Burning Sea. One moment, the World War II hospital ship Benevolence is patrolling the South Pacific on a mission of mercy—to save wounded American soldiers. The next, Benevolence is split in two by a torpedo, killing almost everyone on board. A small band of survivors, including an injured Japanese soldier and a young American nurse whom he saves from drowning, makes it to the deserted shore of a nearby island. Akira has suffered five years of bloodshed and horror fighting for the Japanese empire. Now, surrounded by enemies he is supposed to hate, he instead finds solace in their company—and rediscovers his love of poetry. While sharing the mystery and beauty of this passion with Annie, the captivating but tormented woman he rescued, Akira grapples with the pain of his past while helping Annie uncover the promise of her future. Meanwhile, the remaining castaways endure a world not of their making—a world as barbaric as it is beautiful, as hateful as it is loving. With the blend of epic storytelling and emotional intensity that distinguishes him as a unique talent, John Shors reveals a powerful story of redemption focusing on unlikely lovers, heroes and villains, and war-torn countries—all, in their own ways, fighting to survive.
Categories: Fiction

A Burning Sea

A Burning Sea

The third instalment in Theodore Brun's Viking epic, The Wanderer Chronicles Theodore Brun. A BURNING SEA Also by Theodore Brun A Mighty Dawn A Sacred Storm Front Cover.

Author: Theodore Brun

Publisher: Atlantic Books

ISBN: 9781786496188

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 757

Doomed to wander. Destined for glory. Erlan Aurvandil has turned his back on the past and his native Northern lands, taking a perilous journey to the greatest city in the world, Byzantium. But as his voyage ends, Erlan is brutally betrayed, captured and enslaved by a powerful Byzantine general. Meanwhile, Lilla Sviggarsdottír, Queen of Svealand, has lost her husband and with him, her kingdom. Leaving her lands and people behind, Lilla journeys east on a new quest: to find Erlan and raise an army mighty enough to defeat her usurper. But when she reaches the great city of Byzantium, she discovers a place in turmoil. A dark tide is rising against the Emperor from within his own court. As the shadows darken and whispers of war begin to strengthen, Erlan's fate becomes intertwined with that of the city. Are they both doomed to fall, or can freedom be won in the blood of battle?
Categories: Fiction

The Burning Sea

The Burning Sea

Table of Contents The Burning Sea THE BURNING SEA Paul Collins and Sean McMullen DRAGONS DANTAR VELZA DANTAR VELZA DANTAR DRAGONS DANTAR VELZA DANTAR VELZA DANTAR VELZA DANTAR VELZA DANTAR DRAGONS The Burning Sea Paul Collins is the ...

Author: Paul Collins

Publisher:

ISBN: 9781925272338

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 55

View: 149

There is no lower rank than cabin boy on the warship Invincible. But Dantar knows he is important, because anyone who threatens his life gets turned into a pile of ashes. His older sister Velza is a shapecasting warrior, in a world where only men fight. Until now. Together they must solve the mystery of broken magic and escape the dragon.
Categories: Juvenile Fiction

The Burning Sea

The Burning Sea

Author: Iain Crawford

Publisher:

ISBN: OCLC:31611145

Category: Naval convoys

Page: 218

View: 941

Categories: Naval convoys

Time and Commodity Culture

Time and Commodity Culture

Upon it lay the sun , going down like a ship in a burning sea . Another postmodern sunset , rich in romantic imagery . Why try to describe it ? It's enough to say that everything in our field of vision seemed to exist in order to gather ...

Author: John Frow

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN: 0198159471

Category: Social Science

Page: 281

View: 731

Time and Commodity Culture is a detailed and theoretically sophisticated account of the cultural systems of postmodernity. Through a series of four linked essays on postmodern theory, tourism, gift exchange and commodity exchange, and the social organization of memory, it explores some of the implications of the commodification of culture for the contemporary and postmodern world.
Categories: Social Science

An Outer Banks Reader

An Outer Banks Reader

Upon inquiry, I was informed that two other boats were in the vicinity of the fire and that one was capsized and that he feared all the crew of that boat had perished in the burning sea. I directed the captain of that boat where and how ...

Author: David Stick

Publisher: UNC Press Books

ISBN: 9781469621548

Category: History

Page: 336

View: 839

For half a century, David Stick has been writing books about the fragile chain of barrier islands off the North Carolina coast known as the Outer Banks. Two of his earliest, Graveyard of the Atlantic and The Outer Banks of North Carolina, were published by the UNC Press in the 1950s, and continue to be best-sellers. More recently, Stick embarked on another project, searching for the most captivating and best-written examples of what others have said about his beloved Outer Banks. In the process, more than 1,000 books, pamphlets, periodicals, historical documents, and other writings were reviewed. The result is a rich and fascinating anthology. The selections in An Outer Banks Reader span the course of more than four and a half centuries, from the first known record of a meeting between Europeans and Native Americans in the region in 1524 to modern-day accounts of life on the Outer Banks. Together, Stick hopes, the sixty-four entries may provide both "outlanders" and natives with an understanding of why the Outer Banks are home to a rapidly growing number of people who would rather spend the rest of their lives there than any place else on earth.
Categories: History

Dance of a Burning Sea

Dance of a Burning Sea

From award-winning author E. J. Mellow comes the thrilling second installment in the Mousai series, featuring a powerful sorceress who finds her loyalties tested by a ruthless pirate lord.

Author: E. J. Mellow

Publisher: Montlake Romance

ISBN: 1542026083

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 885

From award-winning author E. J. Mellow comes the thrilling second installment in the Mousai series, featuring a powerful sorceress who finds her loyalties tested by a ruthless pirate lord. Within the world of Aadilor, there is a hidden place called the Thief Kingdom, where both magic and pleasure abound. There, the Mousai, a trio of deadly sorceresses bound by oath and blood, use their powers to protect the kingdom's treasures. Niya Bassette brings the potent gift of dance to the Mousai, but behind her tempting twirls, she carries a heavy secret--that the infamous pirate lord, Alōs Ezra, has been threatening to exploit for years. Now banished from the Thief Kingdom for smuggling, Alōs resurfaces in Niya's life with a plot to hold her hostage, leveraging what he knows to extort a pardon from the Thief King. But Niya makes her own deal with Alōs to guard her secret and guarantee her freedom--yet in doing so binds herself aboard his pirate ship, where she must navigate deadly waters, a bloodthirsty crew, and her own traitorous heart. Soon, a simmering attraction between her and Alōs threatens their delicate truce and makes for a tumultuous ride on the open seas. Far from her kingdom, Niya is entangled in a dangerous dance indeed. Welcome to the world of Aadilor, where dark deeds can mask noble hearts and the most alluring of sways often ends with a burn. Care for a spin?
Categories: Fiction

The Burning Sea

The Burning Sea

I was not disappointed! Fans of David Eddings and Terry Brooks will love this... ' ★ ★ ★ ★ ★ 'I love this series. I couldn't put this book down once I started it. I haven't been this obsessed in a while and I like it!

Author: A. E. Rayne

Publisher:

ISBN: 1973215640

Category:

Page: 680

View: 631

IN A WORLD RULED BY MEN, ONE WOMAN WILL RISE As the kingdoms prepare for war, unexpected visitors and a horrifying murder, throw everyone's plans into disarray. Amidst the chaos, Jael must find a way to lead her men to victory against King Haaron and his sons, watching as Eadmund drifts away from her, powerless to save him. Left behind on Oss, Edela is locked in a deadly struggle to keep Jael and Eadmund safe. She is going to need help to battle against the dark magic being woven by Evaine and Morana. In Hest, Jaeger Dragos has found the Book of Darkness. He needs his father's dreamer to reveal its secrets, but can he trust her? And in Edela's dreams, she is taunted with the terrifying visions of what is coming to claim them all... Contains mature content, not suitable for younger readers. Also in this series: Winter's Fury (The Furyck Saga: Book One)
Categories:

The Golden Bough

The Golden Bough

He said to her, “Out yonder on a burning sea is an island, in the island is a barrel, in the barrel is a sheep, in the sheep is a hen, in the hen is an egg, and in the egg is my life.

Author: James George Frazer

Publisher: BoD – Books on Demand

ISBN: 9783752337716

Category: Fiction

Page: 216

View: 409

Reproduction of the original: The Golden Bough by James George Frazer
Categories: Fiction