A Deadly Thaw

A Deadly Thaw

An imprint of St. Martin's Press. a deadly thaw. Copyright © 2016 by Sarah Ward. All rights reserved. Printed in the United States of America. For information, address St. Martin's Press, 175 Fifth Avenue, New York, ...

Author: Sarah Ward

Publisher: Minotaur Books

ISBN: 9781466878099

Category: Fiction

Page: 320

View: 954

Lena Grey is found guilty of murdering her husband, who was found smothered in their bed. She offers no defense, and serves fourteen long years in prison. But within months of her release nearly two decades later, his body is found in a disused morgue, recently killed. Who was the man she killed before, and why did she lie about his identity? Detective Inspector Francis Sadler and his Derbyshire team try to discover how such a well-orchestrated deception could have occurred. DC Connie Childs is convinced that something greater than marital strife caused the murders, but before Lena can be questioned further, she vanishes. Back in Lena’s childhood home, her sister Kat, a therapist, is shocked by her sister’s duplicity. When she begins to receive mysterious packages from a young man claiming to know her sister’s location, Kat is drawn into her own investigation of her family’s well-hidden secrets. As her inquiries begin to collide with the murder investigation, a link to the sisters’ teenage lives emerges, and the line between victim and perpetrator becomes blurred in this tightly-plotted, compelling novel perfect for fans of Deborah Crombie and Sharon Bolton.
Categories: Fiction

A Deadly Thaw

A Deadly Thaw

“Rich in organic material, the Arctic soil starts to decay once thawing occurs. As it deteriorates, large quantities of methane and carbon dioxide ... Dowling continued his talk describing how satellite imaging and remote 155 A Deadly Thaw.

Author: Frederick Ross

Publisher: FriesenPress

ISBN: 9781525518256

Category: Fiction

Page: 285

View: 176

When a team of researchers from Canada’s Arctic Institute travel to York Factory to disinter a grave, they unwittingly stumble upon more than they bargained for buried in the permafrost. Their research is focused on the old Hudson Bay Company fort cemetery, where they are attempting to find a definitive cause of the famed “York Factory Complaint” of 1833 – 1836. But alongside the now-opened grave of Joseph Charles, a “company man” who had succumbed to the “complaint” in 1836, they find a Hudson’s Bay point blanket, an artifact of particular significance to the archeologist of the team, Rachel Thompson, and an indication that Chipewyan people were likely buried there as well. Upon their return from York Factory, Thompson, another member of her team, and the bush pilot who ferried them to their research site, fall gravely ill. When infectious disease interns have the good fortune to be on hand in the remote north as part of a study, they examine the ailing pilot and are horrified to confirm that he suffers from smallpox, a disease thought eradicated worldwide in 1977. A simultaneous smallpox outbreak occurs in Russia, and suddenly the world must ask the question: how could a disease surviving only within the vault-like security of the world’s two level four containment labs have been unleashed to ravage millions? Could the melting permafrost be releasing this deadly contagion? Deadly Thaw is a richly imagined story that could be ripped from news headlines emerging from a planet struggling with the impacts of global climate change. Meticulously researched, steeped in history, and offering a touching lament for the fate of many First Nations people killed by smallpox infections carried from the “old world”, the story will have readers racing to reach its end and sleepless at imagining potential terrors that might await them.
Categories: Fiction

Nieuw volledig Engelsch Nederlandsch en Nederlandsch Engelsch woordenboek

Nieuw volledig Engelsch Nederlandsch en Nederlandsch Engelsch woordenboek

-srom , m . deaf - and - dumb , deaf - mute ; geboren zijn , -SLAG , m . man - slaughter , deadly blow . ... _STOND , m . hour of deatli , last - , fatal n . thawing weather . ... ( het dooijen ) , 1. thawing ; 2. thaw . fort .

Author: Isaac Marcus Calisch

Publisher:

ISBN: KBNL:UBU000001119

Category: Dutch language

Page: 840

View: 505

Categories: Dutch language

New complete dictionary of the English and Dutch languages

New complete dictionary of the English and Dutch languages

STOND , m . hour of death , last - , fatal n . thawing weather . ... STUIP , f . does it thaw or freeze ? ... 1. labyrinth , maze ; de kronkelingen van een • layer , dead colour ; 2. deadly colour , paleness of death .

Author: Isaac Marcus Calisch

Publisher:

ISBN: KBNL:KBNL03000314658

Category:

Page:

View: 895

Categories:

A Deadly Thaw

A Deadly Thaw

The latest D.C. Childs mystery is like 'Happy Valley' in novel form, with all the grit and plot twists of the author's first, In Bitter Chill.

Author: Sarah Ward

Publisher: DC Childs mystery

ISBN: 0571321046

Category: Derbyshire (England)

Page: 384

View: 450

Autumn 2004 In Bampton, Derbyshire, Lena Fisher is arrested for suffocating her husband, Andrew. Spring 2016 A year after Lena's release from prison, Andrew is found dead in a disused mortuary. Who was the man Lena killed twelve years ago, and who committed the second murder? When Lena disappears, her sister, Kat, sets out to follow a trail of clues delivered by a mysterious teenage boy. Kat must uncover the truth - before there's another death . . . A Deadly Thaw confirms Sarah Ward's place as one of the most exciting new crime writers.
Categories: Derbyshire (England)

Shankar s Weekly

Shankar s Weekly

Her Indian screen in recent readily towards the dacoits vows to kill Lakhan and pleasing presence acts as a months . than towards the upholders the stage is set for a deadly thaw in their fiery enmity .

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UOM:39015080097218

Category:

Page:

View: 829

Categories:

Longarm and the Deadly Thaw

Longarm and the Deadly Thaw

On the trail of a wanted mail thief who has a penchant for killing U.S. marshals, Longarm travels through the frozen gold towns of the Wisconsin Territory and encounters the steamy Maddy Williams. Original.

Author: Tabor Evans

Publisher: Jove Publications

ISBN: 0515116343

Category: Fiction

Page: 182

View: 501

On the trail of a wanted mail thief who has a penchant for killing U.S. marshals, Longarm travels through the frozen gold towns of the Wisconsin Territory and encounters the steamy Maddy Williams. Original.
Categories: Fiction

A Deadly Thaw

A Deadly Thaw

Meticulously researched, steeped in history, and offering a touching lament for the fate of many First Nations people killed by smallpox infections carried from the “old world”, the story will have readers racing to reach its end and ...

Author: Frederick Ross

Publisher: FriesenPress

ISBN: 9781525518263

Category: Fiction

Page: 285

View: 802

When a team of researchers from Canada’s Arctic Institute travel to York Factory to disinter a grave, they unwittingly stumble upon more than they bargained for buried in the permafrost. Their research is focused on the old Hudson Bay Company fort cemetery, where they are attempting to find a definitive cause of the famed “York Factory Complaint” of 1833 – 1836. But alongside the now-opened grave of Joseph Charles, a “company man” who had succumbed to the “complaint” in 1836, they find a Hudson’s Bay point blanket, an artifact of particular significance to the archeologist of the team, Rachel Thompson, and an indication that Chipewyan people were likely buried there as well. Upon their return from York Factory, Thompson, another member of her team, and the bush pilot who ferried them to their research site, fall gravely ill. When infectious disease interns have the good fortune to be on hand in the remote north as part of a study, they examine the ailing pilot and are horrified to confirm that he suffers from smallpox, a disease thought eradicated worldwide in 1977. A simultaneous smallpox outbreak occurs in Russia, and suddenly the world must ask the question: how could a disease surviving only within the vault-like security of the world’s two level four containment labs have been unleashed to ravage millions? Could the melting permafrost be releasing this deadly contagion? Deadly Thaw is a richly imagined story that could be ripped from news headlines emerging from a planet struggling with the impacts of global climate change. Meticulously researched, steeped in history, and offering a touching lament for the fate of many First Nations people killed by smallpox infections carried from the “old world”, the story will have readers racing to reach its end and sleepless at imagining potential terrors that might await them.
Categories: Fiction

Books in Print

Books in Print

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: STANFORD:36105025888475

Category: American literature

Page:

View: 742

Categories: American literature