The Routledge Dictionary of Modern American Slang and Unconventional English

The Routledge Dictionary of Modern American Slang and Unconventional English

Paul Theroux, The Great Railway Bazaar, 1975 funny cigarette noun a marijuana cigarette US, 1949 • “Funny cigarettes ain't all that one pushes, it ain't no big secret.” — Nelson Algren, The Man with the Golden Arm, p.

Author: Tom Dalzell

Publisher: Routledge

ISBN: 9781134194780

Category: Foreign Language Study

Page: 1120

View: 179

The Routledge Dictionary of Modern American Slang and Unconventional English offers the ultimate record of modern American Slang. The 25,000 entries are accompanied by citations that authenticate the words as well as offer lively examples of usage from popular literature, newspapers, magazines, movies, television shows, musical lyrics, and Internet user groups. Etymology, cultural context, country of origin and the date the word was first used are also provided. This informative, entertaining and sometimes shocking dictionary is an unbeatable resource for all language aficionados out there.
Categories: Foreign Language Study

The Pictorial Book of Anecdotes of the Rebellion Or The Funny and Pathetic Side of the War

The Pictorial Book of Anecdotes of the Rebellion  Or  The Funny and Pathetic Side of the War

I have noticed a great Shultz's Timely Discove.y many British flags here , all protecting cot- An honest Schuylkill county German ton ; I have seized it all in the name of merchant , who had been prospered somemy government .

Author: Richard Miller Devens

Publisher:

ISBN: MINN:31951002076807F

Category: United States

Page: 705

View: 435

Categories: United States

A Funny Place To Hold A War

A Funny Place To Hold A War

Now, as you doubtless know, British codes and ciphers are being read by the Beobachtungsdienst, our deciphering service, so that we know the position, course and speed of all British convoys and are reading their Admiralty U-boat ...

Author: John Harris

Publisher: House of Stratus

ISBN: 9780755147267

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 337

Ginger Donnelly is on the trail of Nazi saboteurs in Sierra Leone. Whilst taking a midnight paddle with a willing woman in a canoe, Donnelly sees an enormous seaplane thunder across the sky only to crash in a ball of brilliant flame. It seems like an accident...at least until a second plane explodes along the same flight path.
Categories: Fiction

All Year Long Funny Readers Theatre for Life s Special Times

All Year Long  Funny Readers Theatre for Life s Special Times

Library of Congress Cataloging-in-Publication Data Jenkins, Diana R. All year long! : funny readers theatre for life's special times ... E54A79 2007 8 12°.6—dc22 2007()09446 British Library Cataloguing in Publication Data is available.

Author: Diana R. Jenkins

Publisher: ABC-CLIO

ISBN: 9780313363849

Category: Education

Page: 264

View: 173

This reader's theatre compilation of contemporary, humorous plays that deal with the problems middle-school students face is similar to the author's previous Teacher Ideas Press title, Just Deal With It! The plays in All Year Long! are themed to fit special times of year such as the beginning of school, holidays, and spring vacation and address problems experienced by this age group—peer pressure, fear of failure, jealousy, and more. Each reproducible play offers at least eight roles (boys and girls). Each includes a plot summary, prop list, and costume and presentation ideas, as well as ideas for further student reading on the topic or theme. This engaging collection (which can be adapted to small group or whole class presentations) will be useful to teachers and librarians who are looking for fun things to do with kids to promote reading fluency and discussion. Grades 6-8. This reader's theatre compilation of contemporary, humorous plays that deal with the problems middle-school students face is similar to the author's previous TIP title, Just Deal With It! The plays in All Year Long! are themed to fit special times of year such as the beginning of school, holidays, and spring vacation and address problems experienced by this age group—peer pressure, fear of failure, jealousy, and more. Each reproducible play offers at least eight roles (boys and girls). Each includes a plot summary, prop list, and costume and presentation ideas, as well as ideas for further student reading on the topic or theme. This engaging collection (which can be adapted to small group or whole class presentations) will be useful to teachers and librarians who are looking for fun things to do with kids to promote reading fluency and discussion. Grade 6-8.
Categories: Education

Funny Cuts

Funny Cuts

FUNNY CUTS . 7 WEEKLY PRIZES . THE WARRIOR , THE POET , AND THE THE ROMANCE OF JIMMIE'S MINE , IN THE DARK , PAINTER “ No , it isn't ... and spots on the palms of his hands as hard as There was darkness on everything round us , BOOKS .

Author: Gordon Phillip Hood

Publisher:

ISBN: OSU:32435069361228

Category: English wit and humor

Page:

View: 413

Categories: English wit and humor

Coloring Book Of British Insults

Coloring Book Of British Insults

Coloring book of British insults: a funny gift for relaxation and creative cuss word ideas There is nothing more elegant than a good British stinging insult. This book combines relaxation through coloring and the beauty of a great put-down.

Author: Happy Bear Books

Publisher:

ISBN: 9798628194324

Category:

Page: 40

View: 516

Coloring book of British insults: a funny gift for relaxation and creative cuss word ideas There is nothing more elegant than a good British stinging insult. This book combines relaxation through coloring and the beauty of a great put-down. Could be very useful when speaking to those annoying people in your life. The book is designed to appeal to all levels of knowledge-thirsty colorists, from beginners to more advanced. We hope you will feel more relaxed and ready to battle after completing some of the pages. The book contains: 40 pages in total 19 different beautiful mandala type designs with fun British insults All patterns are different Each design is blank at the back to avoid bleed through Soft Matt Cover Great gift idea
Categories:

What s So Funny

What s So Funny

His face and neck and apparently everything but those chicken-foot hands were bloated and stuffed looking, as though he'd been filled up by a ... “The British,” Mr. Hemlow said, and apparently spat, though nothing seemed to come out.

Author: Donald E. Westlake

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9780446511780

Category: Fiction

Page: 416

View: 681

In what may be the "best Dortmunder yarn yet," Westlake's seasoned but often scoreless crook must take on an impossible crime, one he doesn't want and doesn't believe in -- but a little blackmail goes a long way (Associated Press). All it takes is a few underhanded moves by a tough ex-cop named Eppick to pull Dortmunder into a game he never wanted to play. With no choice, he musters his always-game gang and they set out on a perilous treasure hunt for a long-lost gold and jewel-studded chess set once intended as a birthday gift for the last Romanov czar, which unfortunately reached Russia after that party was over. From the moment Dortmunder reaches for his first pawn, he faces insurmountable odds. The purloined past of this precious set is destined to confound any strategy he finds on the board. Success is not inevitable with John Dortmunder leading the attack, but he's nothing if not persistent, and some gambit or other might just stumble into a winning move.
Categories: Fiction

The Funny Thing about Norman Foreman

The Funny Thing about Norman Foreman

I mean in the I'm not usually a very brave person so it was interesting sort of funny. Even though I was all alone, when I was sat on the bed in the Caramel Suite with Big Al's Big Book of British Comedy Greats and all my Post-it notes ...

Author: Julietta Henderson

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 9781473594487

Category: Fiction

Page: 368

View: 890

---- 'One of those gorgeous books that completely lifts your spirits and restores your faith in humanity' - Ruth Jones, co-creator of Gavin and Stacey and bestselling author of Us Three ---- It was a journey they would always remember . . . for a friend they'd never forget. Norman and Jax are a legendary comedic duo in waiting, with a five-year plan to perform at the Edinburgh Fringe by the time they're fifteen. But when Jax dies before they turn twelve, Norman decides a tribute act for his best friend just can't wait, so he rewrites their plan: 1. Look after mum | 2. Find Dad | 3. Get to the Edinburgh Fringe Sadie knows she won't win Mother of the Year and she's not proud she doesn't know who her son's father is. But when she finds Norman's list, all she wants is to see her son smile again... So they set off on a pilgrimage to Edinburgh, making a few stops to find Norman's dad along the way. The Funny Thing about Norman Foreman is an inspiring, feel-good novel about a small boy with a big heart - and even bigger dreams. ---- 'Tender and hilarious... the perfect tonic for our current times' - Katherine Parkinson 'Charming, funny and cheering' Beth Morrey, author of Saving Missy 'He's wheedled his way into my heart, and I suspect I'll have a Norman-shaped hole there forever' - Clare Pooley, author of The Authenticity Project Readers are in love with Norman: ***** 'An amazing book of determination and not giving up when things are difficult' ***** 'Norman is one of the most lovable characters I have ever met' ***** 'This books breaks your heart in one sentence and makes you laugh the next'
Categories: Fiction

A Funny Thing Happened On The Way

A Funny Thing Happened On The Way

But then, of course, in a British car the driver is on the inside of the road. Poor sister Liz found it hair-raising indeed, all that Greek traffic rushing at her. Also, occasionally men waved at us, and this alarmed her.

Author: Nancy Spain

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9781474618663

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 288

View: 196

The superb classic memoir from a dazzlingly eccentric and endlessly fascinating author and feminist icon - a woman very much ahead of her time - including her time spent on the glorious island of Skiathos 'A happy, hilarious book' Daily Express Nancy Spain was one of the most celebrated - and notorious - writers and broadcasters of the 50s and 60s. Witty, controversial and brilliant, she lived openly as a lesbian (sharing a household with her two lovers and their various children) and was frequently litigated against for her newspaper columns - Evelyn Waugh successfully sued her for libel... twice. Nancy Spain had a deep love of the Mediterranean. So it was no surprise when, in the 1960s, she decided to build a place of her own on the Greek island of Skiathos. With an impractical nature surpassed only by her passion for the project, and despite many obstacles, she gloriously succeeded. This classic memoir is infused with all Spain's chaotic brilliance, zest for life and single-minded pursuit of a life worth living. Perfect for fans of A PLACE IN THE SUN and ESCAPE TO THE COUNTRY 'Full of fun, and that zest of intelligence that never left her' Sunday Times
Categories: Biography & Autobiography