A World Church in Our Backyard

A World Church in Our Backyard

The proclamation of Scripture in the midst of segregation made concrete the personal dialogue between God and the oppressed as well as those in solidarity with the Spirit's activity in the world. The preaching of God's liberation in the ...

Author: Simon C. Kim

Publisher: Liturgical Press

ISBN: 9780814687772

Category: Religion

Page: 152

View: 301

How did a culturally diverse world church emerge in our local neighborhoods and backyards? Rather than an accidental coincidence, diversity in our country, neighborhoods and pews was intentionally brought about through the Spirit’s prompting of historical events. The jubilee of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965) reminded us how the Catholic Church opened her doors to the world, while the Immigration and Naturalization Act of 1965 revealed how the U.S. opened her shores to migrants around the world. Through both ecclesial and legislative reforms, the U.S. became home to many ethnically diverse people and allowed for the creation of a worship space incorporating their cultural backgrounds.
Categories: Religion

Thoughts in My Garden

Thoughts in My Garden

If the other senses could be opened to him one after another , the added perceptions of each would seem like the entering into a new world , so much would be offered to his observation with each new power of perception .

Author: Mary Greene Chandler Ware

Publisher:

ISBN: HARVARD:HXDL4U

Category: Correspondences, Doctrine of

Page: 276

View: 539

Categories: Correspondences, Doctrine of

Drugstore in Another World The Slow Life of a Cheat Pharmacist Light Novel Vol 4

Drugstore in Another World  The Slow Life of a Cheat Pharmacist  Light Novel  Vol  4

We exited into the backyard. Mina had obviously been pulling weeds all over, but the spots she hadn't touched were still full of the things. If she left them alone, they'd overgrow the backyard. Only the little vegetable garden was nice ...

Author: Kennoji

Publisher: Seven Seas Entertainment

ISBN: 9781685791261

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page:

View: 465

Reiji has settled into the routine of his new life as a pharmacist in a fantasy world, and he's comfortable enough that he wants to introduce some Earth customs to the residents of his new home. But how will a bunch of elves, demons, and werewolves react when Reiji introduces them to the strange, otherworldly ritual of...barbeque?!
Categories: Young Adult Fiction

Silverworld

Silverworld

Sami followed his gaze and saw that the field was bordered on one side by a row of distant houses . She squinted , tilting her head ; the ... We're not in another world , we're in my backyard . ” She marveled , gazing around at scrubby ...

Author: Diana Abu-Jaber

Publisher: Crown Books for Young Readers

ISBN: 9780553509694

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 304

View: 911

Fall under the spell of this fantasy-adventure story about a Lebanese-American girl who finds the courage to save her grandmother. Perfect for fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon. Sitti, Sami's Lebanese grandmother, has been ill for a while, slipping from reality and speaking in a language only Sami can understand. Her family thinks Sitti belongs in a nursing home, but Sami doesn't believe she's sick at all. Desperate to help, Sami casts a spell from her grandmother's mysertious charm book and falls through an ancient mirror into a world unlike any other. Welcome to Silverworld, an enchanted city where light and dark creatures called Flickers and Shadows strive to live in harmony. But lately Flickers have started going missing, and powerful Shadow soldiers are taking over the land. Everyone in Silverworld suspects that Shadow Queen Nixie is responsible for the chaos, which is bad enough. But could Nixie be holding Sami's grandmother in her grasp too? To save Sitti and Silverworld, Sami must brave adventure, danger, and the toughest challenge of all: change.
Categories: Juvenile Fiction

Vivienne and the Reaper The Mortal Coil and some other good works

Vivienne and the Reaper  The Mortal Coil and some other good works

"Great another one what do you want! ... "I the over signed will not take the undersigned to the other world. ... "Where is the other world anyway?" the ghost asked. "You are going there! It's in his backyard!" Max said. "His backyard?

Author: Rachel Lawson

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 9780244144432

Category:

Page: 38

View: 952

Categories:

Unperturbed by Nietzsche s Anti Christ

Unperturbed by Nietzsche s Anti Christ

Indeed as Peter Van Inwagen maintains, if we were to look at the actual world in its actuality we can notice how things are. ... It is possible that another tree might have been planted next to the tree that I have in my back yard, ...

Author: Marius Manci

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN: 9781449075620

Category: Philosophy

Page: 174

View: 541

: Throughout history several attempts have been made to discover pierced holes in the curtain of the Christian moral system. One of these efforts was performed by Friedrich Nietzsche. Nietzsche exhorts his readers to expatiate above and beyond any moral system (primarily the Christian moral system which in his book the 'Anti-Christ' he considers to be the most pernicious one) and thereby emancipate themselves from the fetters that these systems emanate. In this book this type of exhortation is challenged along with the accusations that it hosts (consequences to such exhortation are exposed). As a guide to Nietzsche's ideology this book focuses on the main arguments offered by Nietzsche in his book the "Anti-Christ".
Categories: Philosophy

Perfectly Undone

Perfectly Undone

he asks, and the way he says it, the way his brow furrows, does make him look older. ... “The thing is, I can put almost anything you want in your backyard. ... walk into another world and feel anything, what would it be? My mind ...

Author: Jamie Raintree

Publisher: Harlequin

ISBN: 9781488027895

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 503

“The most sensational, emotionally raw, and satisfying debut of the fall.” –Redbook Magazine “From family secrets to heartbreaking lost love, the characters felt like old friends by the end. Highly recommended.”—New York Times bestselling author Kate Moretti Sometimes you have to lose your way to find yourself… Dr. Dylan Michels has worked hard for a perfect life. When her longtime boyfriend gets down on one knee, it’s the most perfect moment of all…but Dylan says no. For too many years, Dylan’s been living for her late older sister, who never got the chance to grow up. Dylan thought being the perfect daughter, perfect partner and perfect doctor would eventually ease the haunting guilt she feels over her sister’s death—and the role no one knows she played in it. But still, years later, the grief is too much to bear. Now, Dylan must find the courage to face her past and define her own happiness if she truly wants to live the life her sister never could.
Categories: Fiction

Bound Broken Series The Complete Collection

Bound   Broken Series  The Complete Collection

My aunt fidgets with the keys in her hand, finally turning the lock and pushing the front door open. My brain works overtime as I ... Covered, but he's stained the concrete to look like stone, and added another world to the backyard.

Author: Rebecca Shea

Publisher: Rebecca Shea Author LLC

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 814

The complete Bound and Broken series including Broken by Lies, Bound by Lies, and Betrayed by Lies by USA Today bestselling author Rebecca Shea Broken by Lies I had no idea how much I would love Alex the day he walked into my life. He changed everything. The way I breathed. The way I thought. The way I loved. He brought me back to life. He gave me strength and a safe place to land. And then he broke me. Finding Emilia was a chance to do something good for once in my life. I wanted to change. She believed I was her savior. I ached to be. She found her way into my heart and claimed it as her safe place. I should be telling her the truth about me...instead I break her with lies. Bound by Lies Torn between two men; one was what I needed, the other was what I wanted. One man was safe and the other was dangerous. But both men would lay down their lives to save me. ATF agent Sam Cortez is fighting to bring down the Estrada family empire, which was built on murder and corruption. Alex Estrada did what was needed to keep me safe...and paid with his life. Starting over as I try to rebuild my life, it's clear that the past is never what it seems. What no one knew was that we were all bound by lies. Betrayed by Lies As an ATF agent, bringing down the Estrada cartel has been my sole mission. I'm a skilled agent, determined and fearless, but a relentless pursuit and a willingness to risk everything almost killed me. A year later, when an opportunity in Los Angeles presents itself, I jump at the chance to start over and rebuild the career and life I almost lost. Kate Stevens was not part of my new plan. I never expected she would be the one to save me from my past. She was exactly what I needed--smart, beautiful and independent. I finally have a future I look forward to. Only nothing in my life ever goes according to plan. Losing Kate is not an option, but fate seems poised to ruin me, and there isn't a damn thing I can do about it.
Categories: Fiction

Beyond the Hedge

Beyond the Hedge

“Well ... you see, we are no longer actually ... in your backyard. When we broke through that hedge, we ... we broke right through into ... another world! We left your world altogether.” “Left my world? What are you saying?

Author: K. A. Wolberg

Publisher: Tate Publishing

ISBN: 9781615668274

Category: Adventure stories

Page: 260

View: 585

After following her tame deer, Davlin, through a hedge behind her new home, Missy Fletcher finds herself in another world, a world of magical creatures and extraordinary adventures.
Categories: Adventure stories

When God Spoke to Me

When God Spoke to Me

The Inspiring Stories of Ordinary People who Have Received Divine Guidance and Wisdom David Paul Doyle. After several minutes of feeling ... Standing there in my backyard I was transported in ecstasy to another world—to Heaven on Earth.

Author: David Paul Doyle

Publisher: Red Wheel/Weiser

ISBN: 9781601631060

Category: Body, Mind & Spirit

Page: 253

View: 653

Have you ever questioned whether your inspiration, insight, or sudden shift in experience was the result of divine guidance or communication? When God Spoke to Me is a collection of inspiring stories from ordinary people that shares the many ways God speaks to all of us in our lives. As these touching accounts demonstrate, hearing God's voice has the power to: Heal your emotional and physical wounds. Mend your relationships. Provide life-altering guidance and direction when you need it most. Instill within you a profound experience of peace, love, and awareness of your union with God. From these touching first-person accounts, you will discover: The many ways ordinary people just like you are touched by the voice of God. The dramatic effects that hearing God's voice can have in your life. How to recognize the ways you may already be hearing God's voice without knowing it. How to receive guidance, healing, and communication from God in new and life-changing ways. If you experience uncertainty, challenge, or pain in your life, When God Spoke to Me will give you hope, comfort, and the knowledge that you are not alone.
Categories: Body, Mind & Spirit