Collected Poems and Other Verse

Collected Poems and Other Verse

Stéphane Mallarmé. COLLECTED POEMS AND OTHER VERSE Poésies Salut Rien, cette écume, vierge vers A ne désigner COLLECTED POEMS AND OTHER VERSE.

Author: Stéphane Mallarmé

Publisher: OUP Oxford

ISBN: 9780191623097

Category: Poetry

Page: 320

View: 967

'sense too definite cancels your indistinct literature' Stéphane Mallarmé was the most radically innovative of nineteenth-century poets. His writings, with their richly sensuous texture and air of slyly intangible mystery, perplexed or outraged many early readers; yet no writer has more profoundly influenced the course of modern poetry - in English as well as in French. In both form and content, his poems created new ways of conveying existential doubt, fragmentation, and discontinuity. This is the fullest collection of Mallarmé's poetry ever published in English, and the only edition in any language that presents his Poésies in the last arrangement known to have been approved by the author. Apart from verse, it includes all the prose poems and the unique, unclassifiable Un Coup de dés... (A Dice Throw...). The lucid, wide-ranging introduction and invaluable notes help an understanding of this astonishing poet's work. ABOUT THE SERIES: For over 100 years Oxford World's Classics has made available the widest range of literature from around the globe. Each affordable volume reflects Oxford's commitment to scholarship, providing the most accurate text plus a wealth of other valuable features, including expert introductions by leading authorities, helpful notes to clarify the text, up-to-date bibliographies for further study, and much more.
Categories: Poetry

Collected Poems and Other Verse

Collected Poems and Other Verse

This is the fullest collection of Mallarmé's poetry ever published in English, and the only edition in any language that presents his Poésies in the last arrangement known to have been approved by the author.

Author: Stéphane Mallarmé

Publisher: OUP Oxford

ISBN: 9780191623097

Category: Poetry

Page: 320

View: 669

'sense too definite cancels your indistinct literature' Stéphane Mallarmé was the most radically innovative of nineteenth-century poets. His writings, with their richly sensuous texture and air of slyly intangible mystery, perplexed or outraged many early readers; yet no writer has more profoundly influenced the course of modern poetry - in English as well as in French. In both form and content, his poems created new ways of conveying existential doubt, fragmentation, and discontinuity. This is the fullest collection of Mallarmé's poetry ever published in English, and the only edition in any language that presents his Poésies in the last arrangement known to have been approved by the author. Apart from verse, it includes all the prose poems and the unique, unclassifiable Un Coup de dés... (A Dice Throw...). The lucid, wide-ranging introduction and invaluable notes help an understanding of this astonishing poet's work. ABOUT THE SERIES: For over 100 years Oxford World's Classics has made available the widest range of literature from around the globe. Each affordable volume reflects Oxford's commitment to scholarship, providing the most accurate text plus a wealth of other valuable features, including expert introductions by leading authorities, helpful notes to clarify the text, up-to-date bibliographies for further study, and much more.
Categories: Poetry

The Poetry Toolkit The Essential Guide to Studying Poetry

The Poetry Toolkit  The Essential Guide to Studying Poetry

Hutchinson, Lucy, see Literature Online Jennings, Elizabeth, The Collected Poems, ed. by Emma Mason (Manchester: Carcanet Press, 2012). ... Levy, Amy, A London Plane Tree and other verse (Whitefish, MT: Kessinger Publishing, 2004).

Author: Rhian Williams

Publisher: A&C Black

ISBN: 9781441106896

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 288

View: 727

With examples from an extensive range of poets from Chaucer to today, The Poetry Toolkit offers simple and clear explanations of key terms, genres and concepts that enable readers to develop a richer, more sophisticated approach to reading, thinking and writing about poems. Combining an easy-to-use reference format defining and illustrating key concepts, forms and topics, with in-depth practice readings and further exercises, the book helps students master the study of poetry for themselves. Now in its second edition, The Poetry Toolkit includes a wider range of examples from contemporary poetry and more American poetry. In addition, an extended close reading section now offers practice comparative readings of the kind students are most likely to be asked to undertake, as well as readings informed by contemporary environmental and urban approaches. The book is also supported by extensive online resources, including podcasts, weblinks, guides to further reading and advanced study guides to reading poetry theoretically.
Categories: Literary Criticism

Shenandoah and Other Verse Plays

Shenandoah and Other Verse Plays

19 Hyam Plutzik : The Collected Poems Good Woman : Poems and a Memoir 1969-1980 Lucille Clifton Vol . 15 Next : New Poems Lucille Clifton Vol . 16 Roxa : Voices of the Culver Family William B. Patrick John Logan : The Collected Poems ...

Author: Delmore Schwartz

Publisher: BOA Editions, Ltd.

ISBN: 0918526914

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 196

View: 875

Five verse plays written in the tradition of T.S. Elliot and W.H. Auden.
Categories: Biography & Autobiography

The Collected Poems of Lucille Clifton 1965 2010

The Collected Poems of Lucille Clifton 1965 2010

28 16 17 18 19 20 21 25 26 27 Hyam Plutzik: The Collected Poems Good Woman: Poems and a Memoir 1969–1980 Lucille ... Lee Quilting: Poems 1987–1990 Lucille Clifton John Logan: The Collected Fiction Shenandoah and Other Verse Plays ...

Author: Lucille Clifton

Publisher: BOA Editions, Ltd.

ISBN: 9781942683001

Category: Poetry

Page: 720

View: 847

Winner of the 2013 Hurston/Wright Legacy Award for Poetry "The Collected Poems of Lucille Clifton 1965-2010 may be the most important book of poetry to appear in years."--Publishers Weekly "All poetry readers will want to own this book; almost everything is in it."--Publishers Weekly "If you only read one poetry book in 2012, The Collected Poems of Lucille Clifton ought to be it."—NPR "The 'Collected Clifton' is a gift, not just for her fans...but for all of us."--The Washington Post "The love readers feel for Lucille Clifton—both the woman and her poetry—is constant and deeply felt. The lines that surface most frequently in praise of her work and her person are moving declarations of racial pride, courage, steadfastness."—Toni Morrison, from the Foreword The Collected Poems of Lucille Clifton 1965–2010 combines all eleven of Lucille Clifton's published collections with more than fifty previously unpublished poems. The unpublished poems feature early poems from 1965–1969, a collection-in-progress titled the book of days (2008), and a poignant selection of final poems. An insightful foreword by Nobel Prize–winning author Toni Morrison and comprehensive afterword by noted poet Kevin Young frames Clifton's lifetime body of work, providing the definitive statement about this major America poet's career. On February 13, 2010, the poetry world lost one of its most distinguished members with the passing of Lucille Clifton. In the last year of her life, she was named the first African American woman to receive the $100,000 Ruth Lilly Poetry Prize honoring a US poet whose "lifetime accomplishments warrant extraordinary recognition," and was posthumously awarded the Robert Frost Medal for lifetime achievement from the Poetry Society of America. "mother-tongue: to man-kind" (from the unpublished the book of days): all that I am asking is that you see me as something more than a common occurrence, more than a woman in her ordinary skin.
Categories: Poetry

The Collected Poems of W B Yeats

The Collected Poems of W  B  Yeats

statements, as with the work beginning “Pardon, old fathers” (poem 1 12). Yeats's own annotations to his poetry — other than the notes from the Collected Poems (1933), reproduced in Appendix A — have been quoted from only sparingly.

Author: Richard J. Finneran

Publisher: Springer

ISBN: 9781349125098

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 567

View: 515

This volume provides accurate texts of all the poems by Yeats published in his lifetime or scheduled for publication as of his death on January 28, 1939, including those omitted from earlier collections.
Categories: Literary Criticism

Complete Poems

Complete Poems

Collected Poems (1944), 26-7. Collected Poems (1958), 70-1. Holograph: Pratt Collection, o'rv, Box 7.52. c141 Mother and Child World Friends, Ns8 (Dec. 1936), back cover. Greeting card illustrated by Claire Pratt, 1961. Note: This poem ...

Author: Edwin John Pratt

Publisher: University of Toronto Press

ISBN: 9780802057754

Category: Poetry

Page: 984

View: 380

The volume offers a full sampling of Pratt's poems chosen both for their representativeness and for their intrinsic value.
Categories: Poetry

New Territories in Modernism

New Territories in Modernism

Elizabeth McCombie, 'Introduction', in Stéphane Mallarmé: Collected Poems and Other Verse, translated from the French by E. H. and A. M. Blackmore (Oxford and New York: Oxford University Press, 2006), pp. ix–xxvii (p. xiv).

Author: Laura Wainwright

Publisher: University of Wales Press

ISBN: 9781786832191

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 256

View: 765

Until very recently, Welsh literary Modernism has been critically neglected, both within and outside Wales. This is the first book devoted solely to the study of Welsh literary Modernism, revealing and examining eight key Anglophone Welsh writers. Laura Wainwright demonstrates how their linguistic experimentation constituted an engagement with the unprecedented linguistic, social and cultural changes that were the making of modern Wales, and formed the crucible for the emergence of a distinct Welsh Modernism. This study of Welsh Modernism challenges conventional literary histories and, in more than one sense, takes Modernism and Modernist studies into new territories.
Categories: Literary Criticism

Collected Poems

Collected Poems

In this classic tale, Richard Kim paints seven vivid scenes from a boyhood and early adolescence in Korea at the height of the Japanese occupation, 1932 to 1945.

Author: Stéphane Mallarmé

Publisher: Univ of California Press

ISBN: 9780520268142

Category: Poetry

Page: 304

View: 939

In this classic tale, Richard Kim paints seven vivid scenes from a boyhood and early adolescence in Korea at the height of the Japanese occupation, 1932 to 1945. Taking its title from the grim fact that the occupiers forced the Koreans to renounce their own names and adopt Japanese names instead, the book follows one Korean family through the Japanese occupation to the surrender of the Japanese empire. Lost Names is at once a loving memory of family and a vivid portrayal of life in a time of anguish.
Categories: Poetry

Free Verse of The Soul

Free Verse of The Soul

"Free Verse of The Soul", offers an abundance of a world rich with a wider range of Myrvete Osmani's poetry.

Author: Myrvete Osmani

Publisher: BoD - Books on Demand

ISBN: 9789179694746

Category: Poetry

Page: 46

View: 381

"Free Verse of The Soul", offers an abundance of a world rich with a wider range of Myrvete Osmani's poetry. With strong emotions and with inveterate language, of that type which is articulated slowly in order to enjoy it for a longer period of time and which is hard to replace, just as a shelter that is created inside the heavenly home where it is carved like soft sun.
Categories: Poetry