Romantic and Revolutionary Theatre 1789 1860

Romantic and Revolutionary Theatre  1789 1860

( Oxford : George Ronald , 1950 ) Davis , J. John Liston , comedian . ( London ...
The theatrical manager in England and America . ( Princeton , NJ ... A biography .
( New York : Dial , 1982 ) Fyvie , J. Comedy queens of the Georgian era .

Author: Donald Roy

Publisher: Cambridge University Press

ISBN: 0521250803

Category: Drama

Page: 558

View: 548

Table of contents
Categories: Drama

How to Make It as a Woman

How to Make It as a Woman

Comedy Queens of the Georgian Era. London: Constable, 1906. New York:
Dutton, 1907. 308. ———. Some Famous Women of Wit and Beauty: A Georgian
Galaxy. New York: Pott; London: Constable, 1905. 309. ———. Tragedy Queens
of ...

Author: University Of Chicago Press

Publisher: University of Chicago Press

ISBN: 0226065464

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 423

View: 761

Publisher Description
Categories: Literary Criticism

The English Malady

The English Malady

Comedy Queens of the Georgian Era (London: Archibald Constable and
Company, 1906), 328. 10Fanny Burney mentions Wells' strange behavior in
Weymouth in a letter to Susanna Phillips discussed at the end of this essay. She
does not ...

Author: Glen Colburn

Publisher: Cambridge Scholars Publishing

ISBN: 9781443814850

Category: History

Page: 305

View: 918

The eleven essays collected in The English Malady: Enabling and Disabling Fictions adopt perspectives from a variety of disciplines—history, sociology, music, theater, and literary studies—in order to examine manifestations of and writing about hysteria in Europe during the long eighteenth century. The collection demonstrates not only that hysteria was an important cultural metaphor for the Enlightenment—a fact sometimes obscured by scholarly emphasis on the study of hysteria as a nineteenth and early twentieth-century phenomenon—but also that the period’s writers sometimes considered hysteria a blessing as well as a curse. Implicit in the various arguments of this collection is the suggestion that hysteria might be considered an expression of early modern ambivalence about the emergence of modernity.
Categories: History

Thirteen Years of a busy Woman s Life

Thirteen Years of a busy Woman   s Life

6d. net. WITS, BEAUX, AND BEAUTIES OF THE GEORGIAN ERA. By JOHN
FYVIE, author of “Some Famous Women of Wit and Beauty,” “Comedy Queens of
the Georgian Era,” etc. With a Photogravure Portrait and numerous other
Illustrations ...

Author: Mrs. Alec-Tweedie

Publisher: BoD – Books on Demand

ISBN: 9783734072338

Category: Fiction

Page: 384

View: 165

Reproduction of the original: Thirteen Years of a busy Woman ́s Life by Mrs. Alec-Tweedie
Categories: Fiction

The love affairs of Napoleon

The love affairs of Napoleon

The period towered by tiis Diary is the interval between the fail of .Xapoieor emd “
The ... The tremendous kismrj :fsric Period mo-ves in the background 'wbiie 11ft.
Mayne cbats ... of Wit and Beauty,” “Comedy Queens of the Georgian Era,” etc.

Author: Joseph Turquan

Publisher: Рипол Классик

ISBN: 9781176799769

Category: History

Page:

View: 339

Categories: History

Introducing Charlotte Charke

Introducing Charlotte Charke

In his 1907 text on eighteenth-century actresses, Comedy Queens of the
Georgian Era, John Fyvie begins the chapter on Charlotte Charke as follows: "
Colley Cibber, poet-laureate, popular actor, sparkling dramatist, successful
manager, and ...

Author: Philip Edward Baruth

Publisher: University of Illinois Press

ISBN: 0252067231

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 250

View: 396

The notorious troublemaker Charlotte Charke worked as a novelist, autobiographer, and strolling actress. But it was as a cross-dresser -- both on stage and off -- that she scandalized eighteenth-century England. Known as Mr. Charles Brown, she lived openly with another woman for nearly a decade.Charke, daughter of Colley Cibber, the English playwright and poet laureate (1740), lived a life of masquerade. Her autobiography is a fascinating document of low- and middle-class life in the 1700s and is explored in some detail by Philip E. Baruth. Other contributors to this collection look at Charke, her famous family, and her place within stage and cross-dressing traditions. Felicity A. Nussbaum provides a thought-provoking afterword on the current state of Charke criticism.
Categories: Biography & Autobiography

The Comedy of Manners from Sheridan to Maugham

The Comedy of Manners from Sheridan to Maugham

Comedy Queens of the Georgian Era. London, 1906. The Georgian Era: Memoirs
of Most Eminent Persons Who Have Flourished in Great Britain . . . George I—
George IV, 4 v. London, 1832. Goddard, Arthur. Players of the Period, 2 v.
London ...

Author: Newell Wheeler Sawyer

Publisher:

ISBN: UCAL:$B312288

Category: Comedies of manners, English

Page: 275

View: 990

Categories: Comedies of manners, English

Born to Please

Born to Please

... Samuel – The Roman and English Comedy Considered ( 1747 ) Foskett ,
Daphne – A Dictionary of British Miniature Painters ( 2 Vols , 1972 ) Fyvie , John
Comedy Queens of the Georgian Era ( 1906 ) Fyvie , John - Tragedy Queens of
the ...

Author: Anthony Vaughan

Publisher: London, Society for Theatre Research

ISBN: UOM:39015029505297

Category: Actors

Page: 195

View: 643

Categories: Actors

The Literary Year book

The Literary Year book

... Wing Pinero in Writers of To - day ( Greening ) , 1902 ; A Modern Aspasia (
comedy in 3 acts , produced by Stage Soc . ... Some Literary Eccentrics , 1906 ;
Comedy Queens of the Georgian Era , 1906 ; Tragedy Queens of the Georgian
Era ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: WISC:89094368578

Category: Literature

Page:

View: 823

Categories: Literature

Restoration and Eighteenth Century Theatre Research

Restoration and Eighteenth Century Theatre Research

Author: Carl Joseph Stratman

Publisher: Carbondale : Southern Illinois University Press

ISBN: PSU:000060810670

Category: Performing Arts

Page: 811

View: 764

This first comprehensive compilation of twentieth-century scholar­ship in Restoration and Eighteenth-Century drama provides a basis for future research and is an invaluable reference work. Items are arranged alphabetically under general headings—e.g., acting, criticism, periodicals, music, theology—as well as alphabetically by surname of actor, actress, dramatist, musician, etc. Copiously indexed.
Categories: Performing Arts

The Literary Who s who

The Literary Who s who

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: IND:30000046584169

Category: Authors, English

Page:

View: 587

Categories: Authors, English

Antiquarian Bookman

Antiquarian Bookman

Disguise Plots Elizabethan Drama Fuerst & Hume . 20th Cent . Stage Decoration
Furnivall . Harrison's Description England Fyvie . Comedy Queens Georgian Era
Gallaway . Constructing A Play Garrick . Private Correspondence , 2 vols . Gay .

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UOM:39015076064958

Category: Antiquarian booksellers

Page:

View: 760

Categories: Antiquarian booksellers

The New York Times Book Review

The New York Times Book Review

Fyvie , John * Comedy Queens of the Georgian Era 1907 , F 2 , 057 . Famous
English Comediennes 1907 , Ja 12 , p19 . Noble Dames and Notable Men of the
Georgian Era 1911 , MW per of Wit and Beauty ; Georgian Some Famous Women
 ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UOM:39015079608413

Category: Books

Page:

View: 983

Categories: Books

The Broadview Anthology of Restoration and Early Eighteenth Century Drama

The Broadview Anthology of Restoration and Early Eighteenth Century Drama

This is the first new full-scale anthology of Restoration and eighteenth-century drama in over sixty years.

Author: J. Douglas Canfield

Publisher: Broadview Press

ISBN: 9781551112701

Category: Drama

Page: 2000

View: 392

This is the first new full-scale anthology of Restoration and eighteenth-century drama in over sixty years. Concentrating on plays from the heyday of 1660-1737, it focuses especially on Restoration drama proper (1660-1688) and Revolution drama (1689-1714), with a smaller selection of plays from the early Georgian period (1715-1737) and a glimpse at the later Georgian period’s “laughing comedy” (1770s and 80s). It includes nine sub-genres (heroic romance, political tragedy, personal tragedy, tragicomic romance, social comedy, subversive comedy, corrective satire, menippean satire, and laughing comedy), with the preponderance of exposure given to the jewel of this theatre, its comedy. The core canonical plays from the era—from Dryden’s All for Love and Behn’s The Rover to Congreve’s The Way of the World and Sheridan’s School for Scandal—are all here, but so are a remarkably wide range of non-canonical works. There are many more plays by women than in any previous general anthology of drama of the period. Also included are a number of works from the neglected 1660s, whose comedies feature delightful, subversive, levelling folk elements. In all there are forty-one plays; each is fully annotated and prefaced with an historical introduction. Also included are a general introduction, head-notes for each genre, and a glossary.
Categories: Drama

The Bachelor

The Bachelor

A physically and emotionally damaged hero. A strong heroine with her own checkered past. Steam that had me swooning. I couldn't put it down!' 5* Goodreads review 'This is another outstanding regency historical romance by Sabrina Jeffries.

Author: Sabrina Jeffries

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9781472266309

Category: Fiction

Page: 288

View: 464

'Anyone who loves romance must read Sabrina Jeffries!' Lisa Kleypas, New York Times bestselling author From New York Times bestselling author, and Queen of the sexy Regency romance, Sabrina Jeffries comes a sparkling new series about an oft-widowed mother's grown children, who blaze through society in their quest for the truth about their fathers . . . and in the process find that love just might conquer all . . . For fans of Sarah MacLean, Julia Quinn and Tessa Dare. Lady Gwyn Drake has long protected her family's reputation by hiding an imprudent affair from her youth. But when her former suitor appears at Armitage Hall, manhandling the heiress and threatening to go public with her secrets, it's Gwyn who needs protecting. Her twin brother, Thorn, hires Joshua Wolfe, the estate's gamekeeper, to keep her safe in London during her debut. As a war hero, Joshua feels obligated to fulfill the assignment he has accepted. But as a man, it's torment to be so very close to the beauty he's fought to ignore . . . With handsome Joshua monitoring her every move, Gwyn would prefer to forget both the past and the parade of money-seeking bachelors at her coming out. But Joshua is unmoved by her attempts at flirtation, and the threat of blackmail still hangs over her. With danger closing in, Gwyn must decide which is the greater risk: deflecting a scoundrel's attempts to sabotage her - or revealing her whole heart to the rugged bodyguard she can't resist . . . For more dazzlingly romantic and witty historical romance, don't miss Sabrina's other gorgeous series including The Sinful Suitors, The Hellions of Halstead Hall, The School for Heiresses and The Royal Brotherhood.
Categories: Fiction