One for Sorrow

One for Sorrow

A must-read.' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'I absolutely loved this book. It can be read on its own, but do yourself a favour and read the entire series.' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'Absolutely BRILLIANT!

Author: Helen Fields

Publisher: Avon Books

ISBN: 0008379335

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 616

'Omg! Wow! What a great book! Suspense, intrigue, action and a great who-done-it with a crazy twist!! I did not see that coming! What a story!' Reader review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'A breathtaking thriller with a devastating conclusion. I can't stop thinking about it.' - Bestselling author Susi Holliday One for sorrow, two for joy Edinburgh is gripped by the greatest terror it has ever known: a lone bomber is targeting victims across the city, and no one is safe. Three for a girl, four for a boy In their jobs, DCI Ava Turner and DI Luc Callanach deal with death every day. But when it becomes clear that every bomb is a trap designed to kill them too, the possibility of facing it themselves starts to feel all too real. Five for silver, six for gold With the body count rising daily and the bomber's methods becoming ever more horrifying, Ava and Luc must race to find out who is behind the attacks - or pay the ultimate price... Seven for a secret never to be told... With twists and turns you'll never see coming, prepare to be gripped by this devastatingly good thriller. Perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride and MJ Arlidge. Readers are OBSESSED with One For Sorrow! 'Oh my goodness, what an absolute cracker. It has everything you want: the plot, the twists, the suspense, the characters, the setting....and that totally amazing ending which dealt me a punch to my abdomen.' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'Please just read this. I could not put it down' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'If only there were more than 5 stars. I could not turn the pages fast enough.' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'Absolutely bloody brilliant! A must-read.' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'I absolutely loved this book. It can be read on its own, but do yourself a favour and read the entire series.' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'Absolutely BRILLIANT! Had me gripped from the very first page and I couldn't put the book down. I am DESPERATE for the next instalment!' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'Wow, this hits you in the feels from page one! If I could give it more than five stars, I would!' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'A masterclass in thriller writing.' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'A wild ride! It sucked me in immediately. My stomach was in knots, and I was up way too late because I could not stop reading. Unputdownable!' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Categories: Fiction

Seamus Heaney in Conversation with Karl Miller

Seamus Heaney in Conversation with Karl Miller

Vendler , Helen , ' Poet of Silence , Poet of Talk ' , New York Times Book Review , April 18 , 1976 , p . ... 8 . THE FIRE I'THE FLINT ( 1977 ) Boggs , R.M.C. , Studies in English Literature , 37 , 1997 , p . 831 . FIELD WORK ( 1979 ) .

Author: Seamus Heaney

Publisher: Between the Lines

ISBN: STANFORD:36105029584906

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 112

View: 352

A 17,000 word interview, with a career sketch, a comprehensive bibliography, and a representative list of quotations from Heaney's critics and reviewers. Also included is Heaney's poem, 'Known World'.
Categories: Literary Criticism

Catalog of Copyright Entries Third Series

Catalog of Copyright Entries  Third Series

Untitled drawing depicting Drink from shoe . By Saul Steinberg . ... By Alice Helen Frankel . ( Occupational briefs on Aserica's major job fields , no . ... ( Siebel Institute of Technology course in scientific baking , lesson 8 ) ...

Author: Library of Congress. Copyright Office

Publisher: Copyright Office, Library of Congress

ISBN: STANFORD:36105211312041

Category: Copyright

Page:

View: 305

Categories: Copyright

The Fabrication of American Literature

The Fabrication of American Literature

Bardic Nationalism: The Romantic Novel and the British Empire. Princeton: Princeton University Press, 1997. Tryon, W. S. Parnassus Corner: A Life ofJames T. Fields, Publisher to the Victorians. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 1963. [Untitled ...

Author: Lara Langer Cohen

Publisher: University of Pennsylvania Press

ISBN: 9780812205190

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 256

View: 138

Literary histories typically celebrate the antebellum period as marking the triumphant emergence of American literature. But the period's readers and writers tell a different story: they derided literature as a fraud, an imposture, and a humbug, and they likened it to inflated currency, land bubbles, and quack medicine. Excavating a rich archive of magazine fiction, verse satires, comic almanacs, false slave narratives, minstrel song sheets, and early literary criticism, and revisiting such familiar figures as Edgar Allan Poe, Davy Crockett, Fanny Fern, and Herman Melville, Lara Langer Cohen uncovers the controversies over literary fraudulence that plagued these years and uses them to offer an ambitious rethinking of the antebellum print explosion. She traces the checkered fortunes of American literature from the rise of literary nationalism, which was beset by accusations of puffery, to the conversion of fraudulence from a national dilemma into a sorting mechanism that produced new racial, regional, and gender identities. Yet she also shows that even as fraudulence became a sign of marginality, some authors managed to turn their dubious reputations to account, making a virtue of their counterfeit status. This forgotten history, Cohen argues, presents a dramatically altered picture of American literature's role in antebellum culture, one in which its authority is far from assured, and its failures matter as much as its achievements.
Categories: Literary Criticism

Signs of the Times

Signs of the Times

Untitled ( egg beater , pan and elongated shadow ) , from the unique book , The Beater and the Pan , 1921 -22 , each : 470 x 3/16 " ( 11.9 x 8.1 cm ) , Purchase , 83.109.1-8 ALFRED STIEGLITZ American 1864-1946 31.

Author: San Francisco Museum of Modern Art

Publisher: San Francisco Museum

ISBN: UOM:39015009254775

Category: Photography

Page: 56

View: 903

Categories: Photography

Subject Guide to Children s Books In Print 1996

Subject Guide to Children s Books In Print  1996

-Texas Wildflowers : A Children's Field Guide to the State's Most Common Flowers . ... Untitled Book on Preserving Wildlife . 1996. ... Ladybird Cowcher , Helen . La Tigresa . Marcuse , Aida , tr . ( SPA . ) . 32p . Bks . ( 81. 4-8 ) .

Author: R R Bowker Publishing

Publisher: Reed Reference Publishing

ISBN: 0835236862

Category: Children's literature

Page: 1172

View: 779

Categories: Children's literature

Thinking Print

Thinking Print

Books to Billboards, 1980-95 Deborah Wye, Glenn D. Lowry Museum of Modern Art (New York, N.Y.). 44 45 46 28. Martin Disler . Untitled . 1981. Six. 8. Helen Frankenthaler , “ To the Editors , " The Print Collector's Newsletter XVI no .

Author: Deborah Wye

Publisher: The Museum of Modern Art

ISBN: 087070124X

Category: Art

Page: 160

View: 511

Essay by Deborah Wye. Foreword by Glenn D. Lowry.
Categories: Art

The Making of Middlebrow Culture

The Making of Middlebrow Culture

103. Irita Van Doren to Harry Scherman, June 10, 1963, Box 8, Irita Van Doren Papers; Mark Van Doren, “Irita Van Doren,” (1968), p. 9, Allan Nevins Papers, Rare Book and Manuscript Library, Columbia University, New York, N .Y.; Kluger, ...

Author: Joan Shelley Rubin

Publisher: Univ of North Carolina Press

ISBN: 9780807843543

Category: Social Science

Page: 416

View: 889

Examines the growth of book clubs, reading groups, and new forms of book reviewing in the first half of the twentieth century to chronicle the rise of middlebrow culture
Categories: Social Science

Forthcoming Books

Forthcoming Books

Dist : Distribks Inc. ( 0-415-94275-6 ) ; text 85.00 ( 0-415.94274-8 ) Routledge . Li , Yen - Hui Audrey , jt . auth . see Aoun , Joseph . Strategic Leadership Approach Date for set 10 Lewis , Helen M. & Appleby , Monica .

Author: Rose Arny

Publisher:

ISBN: UOM:39015054030385

Category: American literature

Page:

View: 886

Categories: American literature

Photographs in Ink

Photographs in Ink

(Sales sample book for John Andrews and son, Department of the Suffolk Engraving and Electrotyping Co.) ... 1917 110 (RELIEF) Untitled (newsboy feeding pigeons) 5X3 1/8 PAUL SHIDELER Relief Halftone The Smile Bringer and Other Bits of ...

Author: David A. Hanson

Publisher:

ISBN: STANFORD:36105018481999

Category: CD-ROMs

Page: 120

View: 642

Categories: CD-ROMs