Hunt for the Jews

Hunt for the Jews

Through detailed reconstruction of events, this close-up account of the fates of individual Jews casts a bright light on a little-known aspect of the Holocaust in Poland.

Author: Jan Grabowski

Publisher:

ISBN: 0253010748

Category: History

Page: 303

View: 765

Judenjagd, hunt for the Jews, was the German term for the organized searches for Jews who, having survived ghetto liquidations and deportations to death camps in Poland in 1942, attempted to hide "on the Aryan side." Jan Grabowski's penetrating microhistory tells the story of the Judenjagd in Dabrowa Tarnowska, a rural county in southeastern Poland, where the majority of the Jews in hiding perished as a consequence of betrayal by their Polish neighbors. Drawing on materials from Polish, Jewish, and German sources created during and after the war, Grabowski documents the involvement of the local Polish population in the process of detecting and killing the Jews who sought their aid. Through detailed reconstruction of events, this close-up account of the fates of individual Jews casts a bright light on a little-known aspect of the Holocaust in Poland.
Categories: History

Old Wounds

Old Wounds

Author: Harold Martin Troper

Publisher: Chapel Hill : University of North Carolina Press

ISBN: UCAL:B4470359

Category: Political Science

Page: 434

View: 480

Categories: Political Science

Hunting Down the Jews

Hunting Down the Jews

Isaac Levendel also established the minorrole played by theMilice in the hunt for the Jews. By using the archivesofthe Courts of justice he describesfifteen cases of members of the Milice who helpedsome Jewsin dangerous circumstances.

Author: Isaac Levendel

Publisher: Enigma Books

ISBN: 9781936274321

Category: History

Page: 340

View: 352

The Holocaust in Vichy France in 1944 is the culmination of this study. For readers of World War II.
Categories: History

Accused of Treason

Accused of Treason

Dr. David A. Tenenbaum is a civilian mechanical engineer who works for the Army at the TACOM base in Warren, Michigan.

Author: Dr. David A. Tenenbaum

Publisher: Post Hill Press

ISBN: 9781642934526

Category: Political Science

Page: 487

View: 475

Dr. David A. Tenenbaum is a civilian mechanical engineer who works for the Army at the TACOM base in Warren, Michigan. In 1997, he was falsely accused of being an Israeli spy—and having dual loyalty to the State of Israel simply because he is Jewish—by a known anti-Semite and several other anti-Semitic coworkers who referred to Tenenbaum as the “little Jewish spy.” The FBI conducted a full-scale criminal investigation of Tenenbaum and his family. It resulted in an official report to FBI Director Louis Freeh, that there was no evidence Tenenbaum had ever done anything wrong. In fact, Tenenbaum was not even working on classified programs. Instead, he was concentrating on an approved and unclassified program known as the Light Armor Systems Survivability (LASS) to up-armor the Army’s HMMWVs because, following Somalia, it was a known fact that the HMMWVs were death traps. The Tenenbaums’ federal lawsuit for religious discrimination was dismissed after the Army falsely claimed that they “would not be able to disclose the actual reasons or motivations for their actions without revealing state secrets.” Senator Carl Levin ordered the IG-DOD to investigate the Tenenbaum case and determine if the Army was guilty of anti-Semitism. After over two years, the IG-DOD issued a report which confirmed that the US Army was guilty of anti-Semitism. To this day, the Army refuses to make Tenenbaum whole and compensate him for the false accusations against him. Tenenbaum is one of the only persons for whom a favorable Inspector General report has been issued to not be compensated. The government has never been held accountable for their anti-Semitism. Senators Gary Peters and Claire McCaskill of the Senate Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee have pushed the Army, but the Army refuses to acknowledge the Inspector General’s findings of religious discrimination against Tenenbaum. The Army also refuses to accept that the price of prejudice against Tenenbaum was borne by the soldiers lost in Humvees who would have benefitted from the LASS program.
Categories: Political Science

Hanns and Rudolf

Hanns and Rudolf

Lieutenant Hanns Alexander is one of the lead investigators, Rudolf Höss his most elusive target. In this book Thomas Harding reveals for the very first time the full account of Höss’ capture.

Author: Thomas Harding

Publisher: Random House

ISBN: 9781448150915

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 384

View: 844

_____________________________________ THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER WINNER OF THE JQ WINGATE PRIZE 2015 SHORTLISTED FOR THE COSTA BIOGRAPHY AWARD 'A gripping thriller, an unspeakable crime, an essential history.' JOHN LE CARRÉ _____________________________________ Hanns Alexander was the son of a prosperous German family who fled Berlin for London in the 1930s, becoming an investigator of war crimes. Rudolf Höss was a farmer and soldier who became the Kommandant of Auschwitz Concentration Camp and oversaw the deaths of over a million men, women and children. The hunt was on. In the aftermath of the Second World War, the first British War Crimes Investigation Team is assembled to hunt down the senior Nazi officials responsible for the greatest atrocities the world has ever seen. Lieutenant Hanns Alexander is one of the lead investigators, Rudolf Höss his most elusive target. In this book Thomas Harding reveals for the very first time the full account of Höss’ capture. Moving from the Middle-Eastern campaigns of the First World War to bohemian Berlin in the 1920s, to the horror of the concentration camps and the trials in Belsen and Nuremberg, Hanns and Rudolf tells the story of two German men whose lives diverged, and intersected, in an astonishing way.
Categories: Biography & Autobiography

Like Salt for Bread The Jews of Bosnia and Herzegovina

Like Salt for Bread  The Jews of Bosnia and Herzegovina

3 “The Hunt for the Jews” The genocidal Ustaše policies could be characterized as a “hunt for the Jews,” similar to hunting wild animals in the forest.103 The Ustaše claimed that the ideological underpinning of the state formed to enact ...

Author: Francine Friedman

Publisher: BRILL

ISBN: 9789004471054

Category: Religion

Page: 968

View: 845

A numerically small Jewish community helped their ethnically embattled neighbors in a neutral, humanitarian way to survive the longest modern siege, Sarajevo, in the early 1990s.
Categories: Religion

Holman Hunt and the Pre Raphaelite Vision

Holman Hunt and the Pre Raphaelite Vision

"This abundantly illustrated book accompanies a major exhibition of William Holman Hunt's work.

Author: Katharine Aileen Lochnan

Publisher: Art Gallery of Ontario

ISBN: UOM:39015079243518

Category: Pre-Raphaelitism

Page: 221

View: 99

"This abundantly illustrated book accompanies a major exhibition of William Holman Hunt's work. It explores the artist's vision and its relevance to contemporary audiences. Despite the great interest in Pre-Raphaelitism, it has been nearly forty years since the last exhibition devoted to Holman Hunt, one of the founders of the movement. His vision, which inspired the Pre-Raphaelite Brotherhood, has lost neither its timeliness or significance." "The book illustrates paintings by Hunt and his associates, John Everett Millais, Dante Gabriel Rossetti and Arthur Hughes, and also includes drawings, prints, photographs and textiles. It examines Hunt's work in the context of the Brotherhood, and his ideas in relation to the artistic, spiritual, intellectual, emotional and social issues of his age."--Jacket.
Categories: Pre-Raphaelitism

Monsters and Monstrosity in Jewish History

Monsters and Monstrosity in Jewish History

Marc Michael Epstein Even nowadays, when all bets are off and every rule is proved by its exception, it is probably still safe to say that Jews constitute a very small minority among those engaging in hunting, whether for sport or for ...

Author: Iris Idelson-Shein

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 9781350052154

Category: Social Science

Page: 288

View: 329

This is the first study of monstrosity in Jewish history from the Middle Ages to modernity. Drawing on Jewish history, literary studies, folklore, art history and the history of science, it examines both the historical depiction of Jews as monsters and the creative use of monstrous beings in Jewish culture. Jews have occupied a liminal position within European society and culture, being deeply immersed yet outsiders to it. For this reason, they were perceived in terms of otherness and were often represented as monstrous beings. However, at the same time, European Jews invoked, with tantalizing ubiquity, images of magical, terrifying and hybrid beings in their texts, art and folktales. These images were used by Jewish authors and artists to push back against their own identification as monstrous or diabolical and to tackle concerns about religious persecution, assimilation and acculturation, gender and sexuality, science and technology and the rise of antisemitism. Bringing together an impressive cast of contributors from around the world, this fascinating volume is an invaluable resource for academics, postgraduates and advanced undergraduates interested in Jewish studies, as well as the history of monsters.
Categories: Social Science

Witch Hunt Against Jews

Witch Hunt Against Jews

Author: Germany (East). Ausschuss für Deutsche Einheit

Publisher:

ISBN: OCLC:13178535

Category: Antisemitism

Page: 15

View: 788

Categories: Antisemitism