Hunt for the Jews

Hunt for the Jews

Through detailed reconstruction of events, this close-up account of the fates of individual Jews casts a bright light on a little-known aspect of the Holocaust in Poland.

Author: Jan Grabowski

Publisher:

ISBN: 0253010748

Category: History

Page: 303

View: 133

Judenjagd, hunt for the Jews, was the German term for the organized searches for Jews who, having survived ghetto liquidations and deportations to death camps in Poland in 1942, attempted to hide "on the Aryan side." Jan Grabowski's penetrating microhistory tells the story of the Judenjagd in Dabrowa Tarnowska, a rural county in southeastern Poland, where the majority of the Jews in hiding perished as a consequence of betrayal by their Polish neighbors. Drawing on materials from Polish, Jewish, and German sources created during and after the war, Grabowski documents the involvement of the local Polish population in the process of detecting and killing the Jews who sought their aid. Through detailed reconstruction of events, this close-up account of the fates of individual Jews casts a bright light on a little-known aspect of the Holocaust in Poland.
Categories: History

Hunting Down the Jews

Hunting Down the Jews

Theloose attributionof the word “milicien” to describeaFrench collaborator may haveinduced some to concludetoo quicklythat the Milice, asan organization, was dedicated to the hunt for the Jews. Our investigation does not support this ...

Author: Isaac Levendel

Publisher: Enigma Books

ISBN: 9781936274321

Category: History

Page: 340

View: 781

The Holocaust in Vichy France in 1944 is the culmination of this study. For readers of World War II.
Categories: History

Like Salt for Bread The Jews of Bosnia and Herzegovina

Like Salt for Bread  The Jews of Bosnia and Herzegovina

3 “The Hunt for the Jews” The genocidal Ustaše policies could be characterized as a “hunt for the Jews,” similar to hunting wild animals in the forest.103 The Ustaše claimed that the ideological underpinning of the state formed to enact ...

Author: Francine Friedman

Publisher: BRILL

ISBN: 9789004471054

Category: Religion

Page: 968

View: 324

A numerically small Jewish community helped their ethnically embattled neighbors in a neutral, humanitarian way to survive the longest modern siege, Sarajevo, in the early 1990s.
Categories: Religion

The Jews of Jamaica

The Jews of Jamaica

Hunt's Bay is a large indentation in the northern shore of Kingston harbour. The burial ground established by the Jews of Port Royal lies within a hundred yards of the sea, immediately north of the Jamaica Government Railway line which ...

Author: Richard David Barnett

Publisher:

ISBN: STANFORD:36105022773316

Category: Jamaica

Page: 201

View: 508

Centuries of Jewish Life are revealed in the terse inscriptions recorded in this book, most engraved by local non-Jewish masons. The brief data they present give the story of Jewish settlement in this Caribbean Island at the gateway to the New World. It is the story of brave entrepreneurs who sought to build a fresh life for themselves and their people and to create a bridge between the Old World and the New. The stones are sometimes the only historical source recording the existence of the individuals and their achievements. For this reason these inscriptions are important as a unique historical source for Jewish History.
Categories: Jamaica

Monsters and Monstrosity in Jewish History

Monsters and Monstrosity in Jewish History

Marc Michael Epstein Even nowadays, when all bets are off and every rule is proved by its exception, it is probably still safe to say that Jews constitute a very small minority among those engaging in hunting, whether for sport or for ...

Author: Iris Idelson-Shein

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

ISBN: 9781350052154

Category: Social Science

Page: 288

View: 121

This is the first study of monstrosity in Jewish history from the Middle Ages to modernity. Drawing on Jewish history, literary studies, folklore, art history and the history of science, it examines both the historical depiction of Jews as monsters and the creative use of monstrous beings in Jewish culture. Jews have occupied a liminal position within European society and culture, being deeply immersed yet outsiders to it. For this reason, they were perceived in terms of otherness and were often represented as monstrous beings. However, at the same time, European Jews invoked, with tantalizing ubiquity, images of magical, terrifying and hybrid beings in their texts, art and folktales. These images were used by Jewish authors and artists to push back against their own identification as monstrous or diabolical and to tackle concerns about religious persecution, assimilation and acculturation, gender and sexuality, science and technology and the rise of antisemitism. Bringing together an impressive cast of contributors from around the world, this fascinating volume is an invaluable resource for academics, postgraduates and advanced undergraduates interested in Jewish studies, as well as the history of monsters.
Categories: Social Science

Jews Sports and the Rites of Citizenship

Jews  Sports  and the Rites of Citizenship

17 Heinrich Heine's feelings of empathy for hunted animals belonged to a traditional Jewish sensibility that felt horror at every manifestation of the predatory impulse: “The taste for hunting is in the blood.

Author: Jack Kugelmass

Publisher: University of Illinois Press

ISBN: 9780252073243

Category: History

Page: 232

View: 249

How sports can provide a path toward citizenship for minority populations
Categories: History

Stella

Stella

This book is the result of that journey, a trip that carries the reader into Stella's tortured past (she is alive today, and spoke freely with Wyden), through her three murder trials and the trauma inherited by her illegitimatedaughter, a ...

Author: Peter Wyden

Publisher:

ISBN: STANFORD:36105082375325

Category: History

Page: 382

View: 518

An account of the experiences of Stella Goldschlag, a German Jew who went on to become a "catcher" for the Gestapo, explores why a Jewish woman would hunt down other Jews for the Nazis. 35,000 first printing.
Categories: History

Golden Harvest

Golden Harvest

Discusses the plundering of Jewish wealth during the Holocaust, not just by the authorities, but also by local peasants.

Author: Jan Tomasz Gross

Publisher: OUP USA

ISBN: 9780199731671

Category: History

Page: 135

View: 470

Discusses the plundering of Jewish wealth during the Holocaust, not just by the authorities, but also by local peasants.
Categories: History

Dreams of Subversion in Medieval Jewish Art and Literature

Dreams of Subversion in Medieval Jewish Art and Literature

5 ) .7 These hare - hunts serve as a visual parallel to a famous Talmudic mnemonic : The order of the blessings to be ... But hunting by Jews was unequivocally condemned throughout ancient and medieval rabbinic literature , which viewed ...

Author:

Publisher: Penn State Press

ISBN: 0271041900

Category: Animals, Mythical, in art

Page: 216

View: 573

Europe's Jewish minority culture was subjected to a barrage of public images proclaiming the dominance of the Christian majority. This book is the first to explore the Jewish response to this assault in the development of a visual culture through which Jews could affirmatively construct their identity as a people. It demonstrates how medieval Jews gave voice to messages of protest and dreams of subversion by actively appropriating and transforming the quintessential symbols of the dominant culture.
Categories: Animals, Mythical, in art

Revealing the Secrets of the Jews

Revealing the Secrets of the Jews

As such, they used the information in these works to present various customs of diverse peoples, among them the Jews. In 2010, Lynn Hunt, Margaret Jacob, and Wijnand Mijnhardt published The Book that Changed Europe.

Author: Jonathan Adams

Publisher: Walter de Gruyter GmbH & Co KG

ISBN: 9783110524345

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 342

View: 883

This book presents the most recent scholarship on the sixteenth-century convert Johannes Pfefferkorn and his context. Pfefferkorn is the most (in)famous of the converts from Judaism who wrote descriptions of Jewish ceremonial life and shaped both Christian ideas about Judaism and the course of anti-Jewish polemics in the early modern period. Rather than just rehearsing the better-known aspects of Pfefferkorn’s life and the controversy with Johannes Reuchlin, this volume re-evaluates the motives behind his activities and writings as well as his role and success in the context of Dominican anti-Jewish polemics and Imperial German politics. Furthermore, it discusses other converts, who similarly "revealed the secrets of the Jews", and contains detailed studies of the campaigns against the Talmud and other Jewish books as well as the diffusion of Pfefferkorn's books and other anti-Jewish writings throughout early modern Europe. Revealing the Secrets of the Jews thus presents new perspectives on Jewish-Christian relations, the study of religion and Christian Hebraism, and the history of anthropology and ethnography.
Categories: Literary Criticism