Jackfruit and Blue Ginger

Jackfruit and Blue Ginger

A modern way to dine: Jackfruit and Blue Ginger is more than a vegan recipe book, it is a true collection of Asian favourites with a vegan twist.

Author: Sasha Gill

Publisher: Allen & Unwin

ISBN: 9781760870317

Category: Cooking

Page: 224

View: 358

A modern way to dine: Jackfruit and Blue Ginger is more than a vegan recipe book, it is a true collection of Asian favourites with a vegan twist. Perfect for fans of books such as Plenty, Bosh!, and Eat Vegan. Vibrant Asian flavours: When Sasha Gill turned vegan, she didn't want to miss out on the vibrant flavours of her favourite Asian dishes; so she got to work 'veganising' them. Studying medicine in the UK, far from her childhood home in Singapore, Sasha is a student who understands what it is to be short on time and budget; most of her recipes don't take long or demand expensive ingredients. Through constant experimenting, she started to create dishes just as delicious and satisfying as her street-stall favourites and family dinners; only using plants in place of meat and fish. Sasha takes inspiration from the flavours of Asia. Enjoy her recipes for: *Jackfruit biryani *Cauliflower samosas *Fluffy peanut pancakes *Creamy spinach curry with crispy tofu *Shiitake ramen *Vegan 'butter chicken' *Sweet potato and onion pakoras *Tofu pad thai * and, Peking jackfruit pancakes
Categories: Cooking

The Joyful Environmentalist

The Joyful Environmentalist

Jackfruit and Blue Ginger: Asian Favourites, Made Vegan by Sasha 15. Gill. This is one for those of you who really love cooking. When Sasha became vegan she didn't want to miss out on all the delicious flavours of her heritage so she ...

Author: Isabel Losada

Publisher: Watkins Media Limited

ISBN: 9781786785015

Category: Science

Page: 272

View: 260

The feel-good book of the year for everyone who loves our planet and is looking for solutions. Fast, funny and inspiring, too. "This is the joy we need in our lives." - George Monbiot. "This book, practical and realistic as well as visionary, will keep that positive message before the reader's eyes. Joy is after all one of the best motivations we can have for change." - Dr Rowan Williams. Finally! A book about saving our planet that is fast, funny and inspiring too. Written in short chapters for busy people, Isabel doesn't bother with an examination of the problem but gets right on with the solutions. Her aim: to look for every single way we can take care of the planet; how we live and work, travel, shop, eat, drink, dress, vote, play, volunteer, bank - everything. And to do this wholeheartedly, energetically and joyfully. Beginning with losing her cool in a restaurant that will only provide plastic cutlery, Isabel journeys through native tree planting in the Highlands of Scotland, playing Samba drums with Extinction Rebellion, interviewing in person the people that supply her energy and food - through every solution she can find - until both narrator and reader are fully equipped to be part of the pollution solution. "She gave my spirit a lift and my feet somewhere to stand." - Sir Mark Rylance
Categories: Science

Country Cooking

Country Cooking

... durian laing – see gulay na natong lamayo – salted fish that isn't thoroughly dried lambanog – distilled liquor made from coconut or nipa palm sap lanaka – ginger in Batanes; see also luya langka – jackfruit langkawas – blue ginger, ...

Author: Michaela Fenix

Publisher: Anvil Publishing, Inc.

ISBN: 9789712730443

Category: Cooking

Page: 305

View: 720

“Micky’s culinary trek around our beloved Philippines had her documenting the recipes and cooking traditions of numerous towns and cities she visited. . . . Country Cooking leaves an exciting trail that leads us to where Micky has set the table for us . . . to see, smell, feel, and savor the richness of the cuisine our Filipino kitchens so generously offer.” — Myrna Segismundo, author of Philippine Cuisine: Home-Cooking Wherever You Might Be
Categories: Cooking

Inside the Southeast Asian Kitchen

Inside the Southeast Asian Kitchen

Author: Su-Lyn Tan

Publisher: Art Post Asia

ISBN: UOM:39015073945845

Category: Cooking

Page: 272

View: 624

Foodlore and Flavors - Inside the Southeast Asian Kitchen takes you on a truly sumptuous gastronomic tour of ten countries in Southeast Asia. With essays and contributions from 14 international culinary experts from the countries of Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam, this is the first ever publication to focus exclusively on the cuisines of all ten member nations which make up the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), while delving into the cultural significance of the region's culinary folklore and traditions. Through this book, explore the true heart of the Southeast Asian kitchen - the deep-rooted ties between food preparation and the partaking of the meal with feelings of family, village and community. With a clear and highly visual approach, Foodlore and Flavors - Inside the Southeast Asian Kitchen will serve as a key resource for not only authentic Southeast Asian recipes but also an understanding of the cultural role that food plays in this part of Asia.
Categories: Cooking

Philippine Food Cooking Dining Dictionary

Philippine Food  Cooking    Dining Dictionary

jackfruit (sc.name: Artocarpus heterophyllus Lam.) ... jackfruit salad, same as Cebuano kinilaw nga nangka. langkang palusag (láng-kang pa-lu-sag; Bicolano dish) [n.] ... galangal (sc.name: Alpinia galanga) \blue ginger (Phil.) ...

Author: Edgie Polistico

Publisher: Anvil Publishing, Inc.

ISBN: 9786214200870

Category: Cooking

Page: 320

View: 973

From ampapagot (Cebuano for triggerfish) to ligaya (bread with red filling from Bicol) to ukuh ukuh (a Tausug dish resembling a sea urchin risotto), this dictionary gathers more than 8,000 terms relating to food ingredients, dishes, cooking styles, preparation techniques, and utensils, among others. For anyone who cooks or simply loves Filipino food, this book is a vital reference and an excellent cookbook supplement.
Categories: Cooking

Blue

Blue

With wild ginger and heliconia. Bamboo, too! Juicy jackfruit that first drove me to Bautika. But yodeling, Trey? How old are you, anyways? I haven't heard anyone mimic Julie Andrews since......well, I never! And that's the honest truth.

Author: Elaine Balliet

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN: 9781434305350

Category: Fiction

Page: 532

View: 304

Categories: Fiction

Tropical Fruit of the Philippines

Tropical Fruit of the Philippines

ANDAMAN TUNA WITH MAE JOM * JACKFRUIT SALSA Jackfruit salsa Ingredients : 200gm / 6oz flesh of jackfruit 60gm / 2oz ... 3 cup dry weight Thai jasmine fragrant rice steamed with lemon grass Garnish and galangal ( blue ginger / lengkuas ) ...

Author: D. J. M. Tate

Publisher:

ISBN: CORNELL:31924089539385

Category: Tropical fruit

Page: 95

View: 764

Categories: Tropical fruit

Shiok

Shiok

Galangal (lengkuas, laos root, blue ginger) is a hard root with pink-budded tips and ivory skin striped by faint ... Nangka (jackfruit) is a large tropical fruit, often over a foot across and over 2 feet long, with rough, bumpy skin.

Author: Terry Tan

Publisher: Tuttle Publishing

ISBN: 9781462917785

Category: Cooking

Page: 192

View: 937

This beautifully illustrated Singapore cookbook features 100 delicious recipes and simple, clear directions. By every account, Singapore is home to some of the best food on the planet. This tropical island is a veritable cauldron of cultures and culinary traditions, and "shiok!" — a local expression loosely meaning "Wow, delicious!" — succinctly sums up the experience of sampling Singapore's best cooking. This book of Singapore recipes is a veritable compendium of beloved local classics, including the most fabulous Chicken Rice and Chili Crab you will have ever eaten, as well as less common but equally delightful dishes, such as Ayam Tempra and Nasi Ulam. These recipes are well written, easy to follow, and accompanied by clear color photographs. Some of the featured Singaporean recipes include: Beef Rendang Curry Crab Deep-fried Fish in Spicy Coconut Sauce Devil Curry Sambal Roast Chicken Fragrant Coconut Rice Soy-braised Pork Peppery Fish Curry And many more! The reader's acquaintance—or re-acquaintance—with Singapore food promises to be an exciting and mouthwatering experience.
Categories: Cooking

Tropical Fruit

Tropical Fruit

Author: Desmond Tate

Publisher: Editions Didier Millet

ISBN: CORNELL:31924089502375

Category: Cooking

Page: 95

View: 762

This book introduces readers worldwide to the best tropical fruit, with hints on how to recognize them, enjoy them, get the best out of them, and tips on natural properties-nutritional and medicinal.
Categories: Cooking

Malaysia Singapore Brunei

Malaysia  Singapore   Brunei

... ketchup , onion and garlic , ginger ( halia ) , turmeric ( kunyit ) , galangal Yvonne Tan's nicely ( blue ginger ) ... Also not so attractive on the outside is jackfruit , but its bright yellow flesh is sugary sweet and wonderfully ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: STANFORD:36105123084068

Category: Brunei

Page:

View: 311

Categories: Brunei