King Arthur The Bloody Cup King Arthur Trilogy 3

King Arthur  The Bloody Cup  King Arthur Trilogy 3

The Bloody Cup, Volume III of The Chronicles of Arthur, is the culmination of a perilous journey of selfdiscovery. Every adult person in the Western World knows that King Arthur dies at the conclusion of the Arthuriad, ...

Author: M. K. Hume

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9780755349685

Category: Fiction

Page: 300

View: 465

War. Darkness. Legend. King Artor, now an aging monarch, is under threat yet again, facing both physical and emotional battles in the culmination of M.K. Hume's King Arthur trilogy. Perfect for fans of James Wilde and Ben Kane. 'Hume brings the bloody, violent, conniving world vividly to life...will appeal to those who thrill to Game of Thrones and other tales of intersecting, ever-warring, noble lineages' - Kirkus Review For many years, the people of Briton have enjoyed peace and prosperity under the reign of King Artor and the Union of Kings. Having spurned the despotism of his predecessor, Uther Pendragon, Arthur has ruled with a strong sense of duty, goodness and honour. Artor is now weakening with age, however, and the seeds of discontent are being sown. Seeking to cleanse the land of Christian belief, dissenters need a symbol with which to legitimise their pagan claim and gather malcontents together into a cohesive weapon. These shadowy, subversive elements seize upon the ancient cup of Bishop Lucius of Glastonbury as a way of fragmenting Artor's hard-fought-for kingdom. But first, they must lay their hands on the relic and, in doing so, unleash a force for evil from which murder and violent mayhem ensue. But it emerges that the ultimate threat to Artor's rule lies far closer to home; Artor is betrayed by kin. Celt will slay Celt and the river will run with blood. What readers are saying about King Arthur: The Bloody Cup: 'The tale is told in a very dedicated and passionate way by the author, and it pictures Celtic Britain in a most remarkable fashion. All the characters come vividly to life yet again in this heartfelt story while the atmosphere of the times really comes off the pages' 'A stunning finale full of action, intrigue, strong characterisation, bloodshed, treachery and passion'
Categories: Fiction

The King Arthur Trilogy Book Three The Bloody Cup

The King Arthur Trilogy Book Three  The Bloody Cup

... in the United States of America 10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1 Library of Congress Cataloging-in-Publication Data Hume, M. K. The King Arthur trilogy : The bloody cup / by M. K. Hume.— First Atria Books Trade paperback edition. pages cm.

Author: M. K. Hume

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9781476715223

Category: Fiction

Page: 512

View: 475

With King Arthur weakening from age and Arthur's own kin willing to betray him, traitors are planning to bring about his downfall and cleanse the land of Christian belief, sending Celtic Britain to the brink of collapse.
Categories: Fiction

The Half Blood of Faerie The Faerie Chronicles Book 3

The Half Blood of Faerie  The Faerie Chronicles Book 3

The creator gave us this cup, and we kept it a secret until Miriyan used it to heal Sir Lancelot. I told her it was a mistake to ... King Arthur desired the cup above all other treasures, but Miriyan had the good sense to keep it safe.

Author: J. D. Edwards

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 9781678183264

Category:

Page:

View: 188

Categories:

Musical and Poetical Relicks of the Welsh Bards

Musical and Poetical Relicks of the Welsh Bards

26—31 King Arthur granted Immunities to the University of Bards , Musicians , and other Votaries of the Druidical ... Of Arthur and two of his Knights , 58 The three bloody - fpear'd Bards of Britain , King Arthur , and Henry the Fifth ...

Author: Edward Jones

Publisher:

ISBN: ONB:+Z254929805

Category:

Page: 183

View: 179

Categories:

Musical and Poetical Relicks of the Welsh Bards

Musical and Poetical Relicks of the Welsh Bards

37 33-49 85-89 The three chief Palaces of King Arthur , The Character of a Druidic Bard , 3-28-84-122 The Knight - Counsellors ... 10 The three Compeers of King Arthur's Court , 12 The three bloody - spear'd Bards of Britain , Of Arthur ...

Author: Edward Jones (Bardd y brenin.)

Publisher:

ISBN: HARVARD:32044020269114

Category:

Page:

View: 788

Categories:

The Return of King Arthur

The Return of King Arthur

(apart from the great interest of the book itself) to any who think such elucidation of the poem worth the trouble. ... the Grail not simply the cup of the Last Supper, which had afterwards held Christ's blood, but they were also 'sex ...

Author: Beverly Taylor

Publisher: Boydell & Brewer Ltd

ISBN: 9780859911368

Category: History

Page: 382

View: 718

The revival of interest in Arthurian legend in the 19th century was a remarkable phenomenon, apparently at odds with the spirit of the age. Tennyson was widely criticised for his choice of a medieval topic; yet The Idylls of the Kingwere accepted as the national epic, and a flood of lesser works was inspired by them, on both sides of the Atlantic. Elisabeth Brewer and Beverly Taylor survey the course of Arthurian literature from 1800 to the present day, and give an account of all the major English and American contributions. Some of the works are well-known, but there are also a host of names which will be new to most readers, and some surprises, such as J. Comyns Carr's King Arthur, rightly ignored as a text, but a piece oftheatrical history, for Sir Henry Irving played King Arthur, Ellen Terry was Guinevere, Arthur Sullivan wrote the music, and Burne-Jones designed the sets. The Arthurian works of the Pre-Raphaelites are discussed at length, as are the poemsof Edward Arlington Robinson, John Masefield and Charles Williams. Other writers have used the legends as part of a wider cultural consciousness: The Waste Land, David Jones's In Parenthesis and The Anathemata, and the echoes ofTristan and Iseult in Finnigan's Wake are discussed in this context. Novels on Arthurian themes are given their due place, from the satirical scenes of Thomas Love Peacock's The Misfortunes of Elphin and Mark Twain's A Connecticut Yankee at King Arthur's Court to T.H. White's serio-comic The Once and Future King and the many recent novelists who have turned away from the chivalric Arthur to depict him as a Dark Age ruler. The Return of King Arthurincludes a bibliography of British and American creative writing relating to the Arthurian legends from 1800 to the present day.
Categories: History

The Boy s King Arthur

The Boy s King Arthur

“And for to passe the tyme, this book shal be plesaunte to rede in, but for to gyve fayth and byleve that al is trewe that ... or Cup, which was fabled to have received some of the blood of Jesus Christ, and to have been brought away, ...

Author: Thomas Malory

Publisher: Read Books Ltd

ISBN: 9781447497455

Category: History

Page: 446

View: 398

This early work by Sir Thomas Malory is both expensive and hard to find in its first edition. It contains the stories of King Arthur and the Knights of the Round Table. This is a fascinating work and thoroughly recommended for anyone interested in the legend of King Arthur. Many of the earliest books, particularly those dating back to the 1900s and before, are now extremely scarce. We are republishing these classic works in affordable, high quality, modern editions, using the original text and artwork.
Categories: History

Professor Borges A Course on English Literature

Professor Borges  A Course on English Literature

I have brought a copy of his first book, The Defence of Guenevere.3 Guenevere—I suppose “Genoveva” would be another form of the name—is the wife of King Arthur, and her love affair with Sir Lancelot is what led Paolo and Francesca, ...

Author: Jorge Luis Borges

Publisher: New Directions Publishing

ISBN: 9780811221177

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 288

View: 654

In English at last, Borges’s erudite and entertaining lectures on English literature from Beowulf to Oscar Wilde Writing for Harper’s Magazine, Edgardo Krebs describes Professor Borges:“A compilation of the twenty-five lectures Borges gave in 1966 at the University of Buenos Aires, where he taught English literature. Starting with the Vikings’ kennings and Beowulf and ending with Stevenson and Oscar Wilde, the book traverses a landscape of ‘precursors,’cross-cultural borrowings, and genres of expression, all connected by Borges into a vast interpretive web. This is the most surprising and useful of Borges’s works to have appeared posthumously.” Borges takes us on a startling, idiosyncratic, fresh, and highly opinionated tour of English literature, weaving together countless cultural traditions of the last three thousand years. Borges’s lectures — delivered extempore by a man of extraordinary erudition — bring the canon to remarkably vivid life. Now translated into English for the first time, these lectures are accompanied by extensive and informative notes by the Borges scholars Martín Arias and Martín Hadis.
Categories: Literary Criticism

Le Morte Darthur Selections

Le Morte Darthur  Selections

Afore the time that Sir Galahad was begotten or born, there came in an hermit unto King Arthur on Whitsunday,2 as the ... bowl, or cup) believed to 3 4 5 6 have been used to collect some of the blood of Jesus after the crucifixion.

Author: Sir Thomas Malory

Publisher: Broadview Press

ISBN: 9781770484849

Category: Fiction

Page: 360

View: 960

Arguably no medieval English literary work has had as far and wide a reach as Sir Thomas Malory’s Le Morte Darthur; among the many adaptations are Tennyson’s Idylls of the King, T.H. White’s The Once and Future King, and the Lerner and Loewe musical Camelot. It might also be argued that the late twentieth- and early twenty-first-century tradition of fantasy literature—from Tolkien’s Lord of the Rings to George Lucas’s Star Wars and beyond—owes much to the Arthurian tradition, rooted in English most strongly in Malory’s Morte Darthur. Yet there has been no edition that draws on the results of the past generation’s scholarship while presenting Malory’s work in a form that is at once true to the original and accessible to the modern reader. This new edition, which expands on the revised and expanded selection of Malory material that will be included in the third edition of The Broadview Anthology of British Literature, is all of those things. The extensive selections include most of the material concerning Launcelot, and all of the Morte’s two final tales; the language has been partially modernized to make the text accessible to the modern reader, while retaining the flavor of the original; the text has been carefully prepared from the Winchester manuscript; and the annotations are extensive.
Categories: Fiction

Easy Cooking for Special Diets

Easy Cooking for Special Diets

... measuring tablespoons are all a little scanty of 1⁄16 cup (The ones from King Arthur come the closest to the correct volume), so 2 tablespoons is a little short of 1⁄8 cup. Therefore, if you need to measure, for example, 3⁄8 cup of ...

Author: Nicolette M. Dumke

Publisher: Allergy Adapt, Inc.

ISBN: 9781887624091

Category: Cooking

Page: 348

View: 767

Easy Cooking for Special Diets: How to Cook for Weight Loss/Blood Sugar Control, Food Allergy, Heart Healthy, Diabetic and "Just Healthy" Diets - Even if You've Never Cooked Before. This book contains everything you need to know to stay on your diet plus 265 recipes complete with nutritional analyses and diabetic exchanges. It also includes basics such as how to grocery shop, equip your kitchen, handle food safely, time management, information on nutrition, and sources of special foods.
Categories: Cooking