Luring the Polar Bear

Luring the Polar Bear

Charlie Richards. ex Luring Polar Bear The CHARLIE RICHARDS WOLVES OF STONE RIDGE BOOK 53 Out of the Cage: Meeting his mate in the most. Front Cover.

Author: Charlie Richards

Publisher: eXtasy Books

ISBN: 9781487430979

Category: Fiction

Page: 109

View: 140

Out of the Cage: Meeting his mate in the most unlikely of places, a wolf must figure out how to win the loyalty of his polar bear. Beta Dixon Holsteen is more than ready to leave behind Savannah, Georgia and the problems facing the Shifter Council. He misses the beauty of his mountain home and the bonds he’s forming in his pack. After returning to the council’s headquarters for one last meeting, Dixon stops at the cafeteria to get a bite to eat before heading to the airport. To his surprise, he scents his mate in a big polar bear shifter bussing tables. He learns Helsinki Akna had been picked up while in the company of a rogue ex-councilman. Speaking with the big, shy man, Dixon realizes quickly that it wouldn’t take much for someone to manipulate the soft-spoken bear. His mate is a bit…dim. Still, Dixon knows that finding a fated mate is a gift, and he wants him. When Dixon makes his intentions known, Helsinki is confused, being under the belief that Fate doesn’t create same-sex matings. Some of those who Helsinki associates with reinforce that opinion. Can Dixon convince Helsinki they truly are meant for each other while extricating him from the unhealthy influences he’s been under for years?
Categories: Fiction

Polar Bear

Polar Bear

Polar bears have an amazingly acute sense of smell: 'they may detect seal breathing holes up to 3 km away. ... polar bears behind pieces of ice) and luring the mother to return to rescue her pup.42 George Qulaut, Inuit hunter and member ...

Author: Margery Fee

Publisher: Reaktion Books

ISBN: 9781789141771

Category: Nature

Page: 224

View: 396

Polar bears are truly majestic animals: the largest land-dwelling carnivore on earth, these white-furred, black-skinned giants can measure up to three meters in length and weigh up to fifteen hundred pounds. They are also iconic in other ways. They are a symbol of the climate change debate, with their survival now threatened by the loss of Arctic ice, and their images decorate fountains and the cornices of buildings across the world. They sell cold drinks. They feature in children’s books, on merry-go-rounds, and under the arms of weary toddlers heading for bed. Their pelts were once highly prized by hunters, and live captures became attractions in zoos and circuses. Stuffed bears still haunt museums and stately homes. In this natural and cultural history of the polar bear, Margery Fee explores the evolution, species, habitat, and behavior of the animal, as well as its portrayal in art, literature, film, and advertising. Illustrated throughout, Polar Bear will beguile anyone who loves these outsize, beautiful, seemingly cuddly, yet deadly carnivores.
Categories: Nature

The Year of the Polar Bear

The Year of the Polar Bear

this group not tracked and disturbed the bear , the Eskimo's death could have been easily avoided . ... Luring the polar bear with their cooking odors and garbage , humans must learn to be patient with the bears , a virtue not extended ...

Author: Thomas J. Koch

Publisher: Indianapolis : Bobbs-Merrill

ISBN: 0672520621

Category: Bears

Page: 150

View: 385

Details a year in the life of a polar bear club and his twin sister.
Categories: Bears

Blood Lure Anna Pigeon Mysteries Book 9

Blood Lure  Anna Pigeon Mysteries  Book 9

Black bears, brown bears, polar bears, Kodiaks. I even petted a koala bear once, though they are not members of the family. And I've never experienced anything like this. It was like the bear was having a psychotic break.

Author: Nevada Barr

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9781472202161

Category: Fiction

Page: 277

View: 966

Predator becomes prey... Blood Lure sees Nevada Barr's intrepid heroine Anna Pigeon come face to face with fear. Perfect for fans of Jo Nesbo and Sue Grafton. 'All is not well in grizzly country... Barr's red herrings and sly twists culminate in one huge payoff' - Entertainment Weekly Straddling the border between Montana and Canada lies the Waterton-Glacier International Peace Park - Anna's home away from home when she is sent on a cross-training assignment to study grizzly bears. Along with bear researcher Joan Rand and a volatile, unpredictable teenage boy, Anna hikes the backcountry, seeking signs of bear. But the tables are turned on their second night out, when one of the beasts comes looking for them. Daybreak finds the boy missing, a camper mutilated, and Anna caught in a grip of fear, painfully aware that her lifelong bond with nature has inexplicably snapped... What readers are saying about Blood Lure: 'Spine-tingling excitement' 'It has so many twists and turns... I had trouble putting in down!' 'Nevada Barr writes so well - the vivid pictures of the National Park and its wildlife stay in the mind long after [finishing the book]... a gripping thriller'
Categories: Fiction

Resist the Lure of My Rich Husband

Resist the Lure of My Rich Husband

The passersby on the street all wrapped up what looked like a polar bear! Moreover, it was a polar bear with its neck tucked away! When people said a word, they could all exhale a breath of white air. Su Ruyan, Yang Zilong, and Ah Shao, ...

Author: Mei NanBuSheng

Publisher: Funstory

ISBN: 9781647874230

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 820

For a man, she had sacrificed herself to be a cold and elegant dancer.For a woman, he'd transformed into a romantic Young Master.However, it was unknown whether it was due to fate or a trick of fate.Her man had left her.His woman had betrayed him.She had met him in the dark as well ...
Categories: Fiction

Polar Bears In The Wild

Polar Bears In The Wild

iving of meaningful exotic in a travel remote research for landscape the for ecotourist the of Polar snow and Bear and the scientist. ice, challenge Polar Polar Bears of conducting Bear offer tourism the lure is big business in ...

Author: Joe McDonald

Publisher: Amherst Media, Inc

ISBN: 9781682033371

Category: Nature

Page:

View: 954

Polar bears are the largest of all of the earth’s land predators. In this evocative book, you’ll learn about the bears’ daily habits—from eating, to playing, to sleeping, to socializing, and mating. You’ll discover facts about their natural habitats, dens, physical characteristics, their numbers, prey preferences, and much more. The book is filled with a stunning collection of over 180 images from Joe and Mary Ann McDonald, Tom Wester, Steve Metildi, and Katherine Pierce. On page after page, you’ll enjoy storytelling images that depict polar bear cubs and adults in the wild. With a rich combination of compelling photographs and detailed, informative captions that provide descriptions of the behaviors and actions depicted in the images, both kids and adults alike are sure to enjoy this book.
Categories: Nature

The Continuum Encyclopedia of Animal Symbolism in Art

The Continuum Encyclopedia of Animal Symbolism in Art

POLAR BEAR Left : Drawing by Inuit artist Davidialuk Alasuaq said to depict a polar bear attacking a defenseless woman , a recurrent theme in Inuit women's stories and dreams ( Saladin d'Anglure in Willis , Signifying Animals 185 ) .

Author: Hope B. Werness

Publisher: A&C Black

ISBN: 0826415253

Category: Reference

Page: 476

View: 247

Animals and their symbolism in diverse world cultures and different eras of human history are chronicled in this lovely volume.
Categories: Reference

Skye s Lure

Skye s Lure

His dad could sell ice to a polar bear, and he'd found the perfect niche marketplace to capitalize on that. It was a double-edged sword – Vince admired his father's charities, which did a lot of good for the world's water, ...

Author: Angel Leya

Publisher: Angel Leya

ISBN:

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page: 114

View: 358

I should've let him drown. That's what any normal Mer would have done. Of course, if I was like the rest, I wouldn't have been lurking around that party yacht, trying to catch a glimpse of the humans. My people will kill me if they find out--literally--but I can't help going back every time he shows up. And he's offering me everything I've ever wanted: A chance to see land. Those stormy blue eyes don't hurt, either. Now I have to decide. Is it worth risking everything I've ever known, everything I've ever believed, to follow my heart? How can I say yes? But how can I possibly say no? Includes Legend of the Mer, the creation short story that started it all. Readers of clean young adult fiction will enjoy this modern sweet romance with all the charm of The Little Mermaid.
Categories: Young Adult Fiction

The Lure

The Lure

He looked around at the photographs which covered the office walls: icebergs, aurora borealis, a cuddly little polar bear,an icebreaker apparently stranded onasnowfield. The card read: OlafF. Petersen, Cand.mag.,Siv.ing.

Author: Bill Napier

Publisher: St. Martin's Paperbacks

ISBN: 9781466856370

Category: Fiction

Page: 416

View: 672

In a top-secret research facility, a team of scientists receive an unexpected message from the depths of space. At first, the blizzard of sub-nuclear particles seemed random. But soon a pattern emerges that could only have come from an alien intelligence far more advanced than our own. Now it's up to Irish mathematician Tom Petrie to decode these messages and unlock their secret—one that is believed to contain an unimaginable technological breakthrough, and has the power to change the course of human history...unless the world's superpowers succeed in suppressing the truth. Can Petrie and his team unmask the message's true intent while evading those who aim to crush its extraordinary revelations? A desperate race against time—and through space—is about to begin....in The Lure by Bill Napier.
Categories: Fiction