Fire by Night

Fire by Night

Finding God in the Pages of the Old Testament Melissa Florer-Bixler. MELISSA FLORER - BIXLER fire night FINDING GOD IN THE PAGES OF THE OLD TESTAMENT “In her fantastic debut, Mennonite pastor Florer-Bixler guides readers through.

Author: Melissa Florer-Bixler

Publisher: MennoMedia, Inc.

ISBN: 9781513804200

Category: Religion

Page: 192

View: 577

What do we do with the Old Testament? How do we read words written in a world so different from ours, stories so ruthless and so filled with grace? In Fire by Night, pastor Melissa Florer-Bixler invites readers to marvel at the Old Testament. Page after page, in stories and poems and prophecies, the Hebrew Scripture introduces us to a God who is unwieldy and uncontrollable, common and extraordinary, and who brings both life and death. Using stories from Scripture and from her ministry, Florer-Bixler braids together the text with the sometimes ordinary, sometimes radical grace of God. The same passages that confuse and horrify and baffle us can, if we are paying attention, lure us closer toward God. This God has traveled with people through cloud and fire, by day and by night, since the beginning of time. The Old Testament is a perplexing book of profound grace, hope, and beauty. It’s a book of fire. To read the Old Testament is to draw close to God’s love, which continues to burn away our expectations and set us ablaze. This God has traveled with people through pillars of cloud and fire, by day and by night, since the days of the exodus.
Categories: Religion

Night of Fire

Night of Fire

She had also written an essay on that lovely, unusual festival, and titled it Fire Night. It had been published only last week, in a collection of essays on travel. Which her set would also read. Along with Basilio's poems.

Author: Barbara Samuel

Publisher: Barbara Samuel

ISBN: 9781937688158

Category: Fiction

Page: 300

View: 986

Night of Fire Fans of Jo Beverley, Eloisa James, and Stephanie Laurens will enjoy this intensely passionate and romantic full-length novel of star-crossed lovers by six-time RITA award winner Barbara Samuel. HE CAPTURED HER HEART WITH HIS PEN Lady Cassandra St. Ives had sworn off marriage ever since becoming a happy widow, but lately her affections have been engaged by a mysterious, long distance correspondent. Cassandra has shared her soul with her far-off admirer, and when he invites her to visit his home she accepts the invitation gladly. Expecting a kindly of gentleman, Cassandra is stunned to find that Count Basilio Montevarchi is a virile man in his prime who knows her heart's most intimate desires--and is only too willing to fulfill every one...
Categories: Fiction

West s Southern Reporter

West s Southern Reporter

... why witness was at the fire on night of murders , and why his cigarette lighter was found in victim ' s truck . Rules of Evid . , Rule 608 ( b ) . - Id . Com 344 ( 2 ) . Immoral or unlawful acts or conduct in general . Miss . 1999 .

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UCAL:B4443182

Category: Law reports, digests, etc

Page:

View: 629

Categories: Law reports, digests, etc

A Vision of Fire

A Vision of Fire

“Good night,” she said. “Good night, Cai,” he said, and raised a hand with effort as he signed off. She raised a hand at the dark screen. After answering a few e-mails and reading a few headlines in the professional newsletters, ...

Author: Gillian Anderson

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9781476776545

Category: Fiction

Page: 304

View: 883

A Vision of Fire is the explosive first novel from iconic X-Files star Gillian Anderson and New York Times bestselling author Jeff Rovin: “Fans of Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child will find a lot to like” (Publishers Weekly). Renowned child psychologist Caitlin O’Hara is a single mom trying to juggle her job, her son, and a lackluster dating life. Her world is suddenly upturned when Maanik, the daughter of India’s ambassador to the United Nations starts speaking in tongues and having violent visions. Maanik’s parents are sure that her fits have something to do with the recent assassination attempt on her father—a shooting that has escalated nuclear tensions between India and Pakistan to dangerous levels—but when children start having similar outbursts around the world, Caitlin begins to think that there’s a stranger force at work. In Haiti, a student claws at her throat, drowning on dry land. In Iran, a boy suddenly and inexplicably bursts into flame. On the Pakistan border, a young man feels a burning in his chest and, against his will, opens fire on Indian troops. With Asia on the cusp of nuclear war, Caitlin must race across the globe and uncover the supernatural links between these seemingly unrelated cases in order to save her patient—and perhaps the world. The first in a series, A Vision of Fire is a pulse-pounding thriller that will leave you gasping for more.
Categories: Fiction

Bill Bailey s Remarkable Guide to Happiness

Bill Bailey s Remarkable Guide to Happiness

And every night he slept soundly in his buggy, with a mozzie net strung over his cradle, asleep in seconds, ... The night air was chillier now the fire had gone out, so I crawled into my tent and fell into a deep, dreamless sleep.

Author: Bill Bailey

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9781529412468

Category: Humor

Page: 224

View: 952

WHAT MAKES US HAPPY? BILL BAILEY PLAYS CRAZY GOLF AND HUGS TREES TO FIND OUT. 'A warm, funny read, full of personal anecdotes and love letters to things that bring Bill Bailey pleasure' Sunday Mirror 'Very thoughtful and written in a delightfully humorous and accessible way... Guaranteed to make [you] smile' Daily Express Is there a knack to being happy? From paddle-boarding down the Thames in a Santa hat, to wild swimming in a glacial river and cooking sausages on a campfire, Bill revels in the exhilaration of the outdoors, as well as the quieter pleasures of letter-writing, or of simple reflection. In this beautiful and uplifting book, Bill Bailey explores all this and more while delving into the nature of happiness, all in his own, remarkable, way. Packed with wisdom and humour, and with delightful illustrations by the comedian himself, Bill Bailey aims for the heart of pure joy and contentment - and how we can all achieve it. *Bill Bailey will be dancing on Strictly Come Dancing from 17th October 2020*
Categories: Humor

Bible Stories and Religious Classics

Bible Stories and Religious Classics

Aaron in the night, and said: Arise ye and go your way from my people, ye and the children of Israel, as ye say ye will, take your sheep ... the pillar of the cloud failed never by day, nor the pillar of fire by night tofore the people.

Author: Philip Wells

Publisher: Andrews UK Limited

ISBN: 9781849892049

Category: Juvenile Nonfiction

Page: 463

View: 347

A range of bible stories and other religious classics are re-told in the classic book. First published over 100 years ago, the messages contained within these re-tellings are as relevant today as they were back then. Children especially will love the versions told in this ebook, and this is a fantastic way to introduce them to the teachings of the bible.
Categories: Juvenile Nonfiction

United States Congressional serial set

United States Congressional serial set

... and night of April 24, 1943, which was on Saturday. It is not more than three or four hundred yards from where I live to the Overall farm on the opposite side of the road. After I learned of the barn being on fire I immediately went ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UCAL:B3996798

Category:

Page:

View: 236

Categories:

Still Dreaming My Journey from the Barrio to Capitol Hill

Still Dreaming  My Journey from the Barrio to Capitol Hill

Besides, the fire looked like it had started right in the middle of the room. And what about the crash? “Probably something with the boiler.” “But there is nothing wrong with the boiler,” I said. “It's a warm night, it's not even on.

Author: Luis Gutiérrez

Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company

ISBN: 9780393088977

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 413

View: 850

The eleven-term Latino congressman describes his life, from his time as a cab driver and community organizer to finding his own political voice, getting elected, and becoming a champion for immigration reform.
Categories: Biography & Autobiography

The Mice Templar V Night s End 2

The Mice Templar V  Night s End  2

The Tuatha Dé Danann "sent forth magic showers of sorcery and Compact clouds of mist and a furious rain of fire, with a downpour of red blood from the air. On the warriors' heads; and they allowed the Fir Bolg neither rest nor stay for ...

Author: Michael Avon Oeming

Publisher: Image Comics

ISBN: PKEY:FEB150617

Category: Comics & Graphic Novels

Page: 56

View: 103

"RUNNING RED" The greatest battle in the history of the Dark Lands continues -- Templar, Maeven, Rat, Bat, Cat, Weasel, Owl and Serpent wage war for control of the city -- and the very destiny of the Shadow Time!
Categories: Comics & Graphic Novels

Pillar of Fire

Pillar of Fire

Of course je wanted to tell it to someone who vould like to hear the Good News . so the Lord sent him to a beautiful country field of Palestine where vere some good shepherds watching heir flocks at night . They had been iving under the ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: WISC:89080466766

Category:

Page:

View: 560

Categories: