Under the Open Skies

Under the Open Skies

Framed with stunning photographs taken by Frida, Under the Open Skies is the story of Markus’s journey from broken youth, to living alone in the forest, to a self-healed family man.

Author: Markus Torgeby

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9781471196546

Category: Nature

Page: 192

View: 512

In the vein of Erling Kagge’s Silence and Lars Mytting’s Norwegian Wood, Under the Open Skies: A Practical Guide to Living Close to Nature combines escapism and adventure with a love of nature and the desire for a simpler life. Twenty years ago, Markus Torgeby traded his hectic urban lifestyle for a small hut in the forests of northern Sweden. He ended up living there for four years, in perfect solitude and in harmony with nature. Today, he and his wife Frida and their three children live in a house he built with his own hands, near the site where he once survived on nothing but oatmeal, river water and the forest’s own pantry. Framed with stunning photographs taken by Frida, Under the Open Skies is the story of Markus’s journey from broken youth, to living alone in the forest, to a self-healed family man. Torgeby is proof of the restorative powers of the outdoors and his descriptions of living close to nature combine everyday philosophy and inspirational insights with helpful advice as he shares how to make fire, the best techniques for chopping logs and how best to forage for food. Part practical guide to how to live in the wild, part a meditation on the human need for a connection with the natural world, Under the Open Skies is the beguiling and timely portrait of how the desire for a simpler existence helped one man find contentment and connection with the world around him, and how we can all learn from his experience.
Categories: Nature

Open Skies

Open Skies

Technical, Organizational, Operational, Legal, and Political Aspects Michael Slack, Heather Chestnutt. - TL CHAPTER THIRTEEN NATO EUROPE AND OPEN SKIES JOHN BORAWSKI *

Author: Michael Slack

Publisher: Centre for International and Strategic Studies, York University

ISBN: PSU:000017130738

Category: Aerial reconnaissance

Page: 168

View: 890

Categories: Aerial reconnaissance

Beyond Open Skies

Beyond Open Skies

The book draws upon a variety of sources, including very recent developments in U.S. and EC international aviation law, policy, and diplomacy, to propose a genuine multilateral air transport system.

Author: Brian F. Havel

Publisher: Kluwer Law International B.V.

ISBN: 9789041123893

Category: Law

Page: 712

View: 237

'Beyond Open Skies' offers a systematic comparative analysis of the legal and policy dimensions of airline deregulation by federal fiat in the United States and by supranational collaboration in the European Union. The book draws upon a variety of sources, including very recent developments in U.S. and EC international aviation law, policy, and diplomacy, to propose a genuine multilateral air transport system. It examines the potential of the 'open skies' initiative, in the aftermath of the new U.S./EC air transport agreement, to inspire a genuine globalization of the world's air transport industry in such crucial aspects as the following: cabotage; ownership and citizenship requirements; route selection; airline identity; capacity; pricing regimes; competition and public aid; regulatory harmonization; labor laws; provisions for charter and/or cargo transportation; fair operation of and access to computer reservations systems; authorization of code-sharing arrangements; alliances and antitrust immunity; and dispute resolution.
Categories: Law

Open Skies

Open Skies

Explains how the decision to offer Eisenhower's Open Skies proposal was reached, why the Soviets rejected it, and why it gave the U.S. a psychological victory at the 1955 summit meeting

Author: W. W. Rostow

Publisher:

ISBN: UOM:39015004935097

Category: Disarmament

Page: 224

View: 155

Explains how the decision to offer Eisenhower's Open Skies proposal was reached, why the Soviets rejected it, and why it gave the U.S. a psychological victory at the 1955 summit meeting
Categories: Disarmament

Open Skies for Peace

 Open Skies  for Peace

Author: William Lambers

Publisher: William Lambers

ISBN: 9780972462976

Category: History

Page: 28

View: 378

Categories: History

The Treaty on Open Skies

The Treaty on Open Skies

Author: Kirk W. Clear

Publisher:

ISBN: UOM:39015043097990

Category: Aerial observation (Military science)

Page: 69

View: 814

Categories: Aerial observation (Military science)

Open Skies for Africa

Open Skies for Africa

However, Morocco has pursued an open skies policy by agreeing to an open skies agreement with the EU and has called for liberalization within the AMU. At the same time, all the African Arab states have state-owned carriers, ...

Author: Charles E Schlumberger

Publisher: World Bank Publications

ISBN: 0821382063

Category: Business & Economics

Page: 260

View: 727

In Africa, where poor roads, ports, and railways often constrain efficient transportation, air transport holds great potential as a lever for economic growth and development. Yet Africa has suffered several decades of inefficient air services. Uncompetitive flag carriers, set up by newly independent African states, offered primarily intercontinental flights, while the domestic air service market remained underdeveloped and underserved. The 1999 pan-African treaty on liberalization of access to air transport markets, the Yamoussoukro Decision, attempted to address these shortcomings. Yet a decade later, only partial liberalization has been achieved. 'Open Skies for Africa: Implementing the Yamoussoukro Decision' reviews progress made in carrying out the treaty and suggests ways in which the liberalization process can be encouraged. The book analyzes the completed and still-pending steps toward implementation of the Yamoussoukro Decision, both on a pan-African level and within various regions. Special focus is given to the challenges posed by the poor aviation safety and security standards that exist in most African countries. Finally, the book measures the impact that certain policy steps of the Yamoussoukro Decision have had and evaluates the economic significance of air transportation and its full liberalization in Africa. The book concludes that the process of liberalizing African air services must continue, and provides policy recommendations for the way forward.
Categories: Business & Economics

Open Skies

Open Skies

This book recounts and analyzes the history of one of the best-kept diplomatic and security secrets of the last half-century—the Open Skies Treaty: a treaty that allows the U.S., the Russian Federation, and over 30 other signatories to ...

Author: Peter Jones

Publisher: Stanford University Press

ISBN: 9780804792318

Category: Political Science

Page: 264

View: 613

This book recounts and analyzes the history of one of the best-kept diplomatic and security secrets of the last half-century—the Open Skies Treaty: a treaty that allows the U.S., the Russian Federation, and over 30 other signatories to fly unarmed reconnaissance aircraft over one another's territory. First proposed by President Eisenhower in 1955, shelved by succeeding administrations, re-launched by President George H. W. Bush in 1989, and finally ratified in 2002, the Treaty has been one of the most important security instruments of the 21st century—with over 1,000 flights logged to date providing confidence for the governments, intelligence communities, and militaries of former and potential adversaries. Written by a professor and former diplomat who was deeply involved in the negotiations of the Open Skies Treaty from 1989 to 1995, this book is a meticulous work of political history that explores how Open Skies affected, and was affected by, the extraordinary times of its negotiation—during which the Cold War ended and the Soviet Union collapsed. But it is also a potential blueprint for future applications of the Open Skies concept by providing insights into the role that cooperative aerial monitoring can play in helping to transform other difficult relationships around the world. As such it will serve as a negotiation handbook for diplomats, bureaucrats, and politicians and as a case-study textbook for IR students and students of diplomacy.
Categories: Political Science

Open Skies Closed Minds

Open Skies  Closed Minds

This text reveals what is in the X-Files residing in the deepest vaults of the Ministry of Defence.

Author: Nick Pope

Publisher:

ISBN: IND:30000050265267

Category: Unidentified flying objects

Page: 270

View: 673

This text reveals what is in the X-Files residing in the deepest vaults of the Ministry of Defence. It outlines cases of sightings, together with the government policy and procedure. It also details the Government's response to phenomena like crop circles, animal mutilations and famous sightings such as the Rendelsham Forest case (1980), the Roswell incident, and the sightings of the US supersonic aircraft Aurora which has never been officially denied or otherwise. The book argues that there is a real threat to national security and that not enough is being done about it.
Categories: Unidentified flying objects