Secret Yorkshire Dales

Secret Yorkshire Dales

The Westmorland Dales has the highest concentration of limestone pavement outside the Yorkshire Dales. After lengthy consultation, the north of the park was named the Westmorland Dales. To many this is Cumbria and the introduction of ...

Author: Mike Appleton

Publisher: Amberley Publishing Limited

ISBN: 9781445691602

Category: Photography

Page: 96

View: 767

An engaging exploration of the hidden history of the Yorkshire Dales including its people and places.
Categories: Photography

Slow Travel Yorkshire Dales

Slow Travel  Yorkshire Dales

If you can only visit the Dales once in the year to experience its flowers, then June has to be the time. ... orchid plant exists in Britain and it grows in a secret ash-wood location somewhere in the Craven and Wharfedale locale.

Author: Mike Bagshaw

Publisher: Bradt Travel Guides

ISBN: 9781784776091

Category: Travel

Page: 208

View: 328

This new, thoroughly updated edition of Yorkshire Dales, part of Bradt's series of distinctive 'Slow' guides to local UK regions, remains the most comprehensive guide to the area and covers the whole of the recently extended Yorkshire Dales National Park and Nidderdale Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty as well as some 'slow' and historic towns and villages just outside the boundaries. Dale by dale, each chapter covers wildlife, folklore, history and local food and drink, and suggests routes to follow to see the best of it all. Walking and cycling are included, as well as all the attractions and advice needed for a memorable visit. Written by an expert who has lived and worked in the area for over 30 years, the guide draws from his personal experiences as an outdoor enthusiast, naturalist and beer connoisseur. The Yorkshire Dales is famous internationally for its caves, scenic rivers, waterfalls and limestone flora but the lives and culture of the Dales folk that live there are just as fascinating. These days the area is also known for the Tour de Yorkshire, now firmly established as a hugely popular annual cycling event. Ease the pace and discover the delights of the north Pennines, where rivers from the limestone uplands have forged the dales that give the region its name. Drop in to the Tan Hill Inn, the highest pub in Britain, where sheep regularly find their way in to warm themselves by the roaring fire; journey into the depths of Gaping Gill, one of the largest underground chambers in Britain; or take a scenic rail trip on the famous Settle-Carlisle line, crossing the longest railway viaduct in the country at Ribblehead en route. The Yorkshire Dales offer hundreds of square miles of open-access land to explore, popular long-distance footpaths including the Pennine Way and Coast to Coast Walk, renowned medieval castles such as Skipton and Richmond, quaint stone villages and an exceptionally rich wildlife particularly associated with clean rivers and limestone-pavement flora. Discover all this and more with Bradt's Slow Travel Yorkshire Dales, the perfect companion for a successful trip.
Categories: Travel

Yorkshire Dales and Moors

Yorkshire Dales and Moors

House Café , an Art Gallery , a Pho- Each level of the dale has its own tographic Studio , the Sun Inn and the flora : the ... it is there that some of the another route turns southwards into dale's scenic gems lie hidden . Deepdale .

Author: Martyn Hanks

Publisher: Hunter Publishing, Inc

ISBN: 1901522415

Category: Travel

Page: 208

View: 856

In the VISITOR GUIDE series, this pocket sized book, with full colour photography and maps, is not the usual run-of-the-mill guide. The author describes places in depth, giving historical details where it is likely to enhance the visit, points out physical attractions which might easily be missed, describing their importance. Includes walks.
Categories: Travel

Yorkshire Dales Slow Travel

Yorkshire Dales  Slow Travel

... flowers return to their old haunts, no longer secret and guarded, and we can all marvel at the plant that so nearly disappeared. ... For details contact the Yorkshire Dales Millennium Trust (✆ 01524 251002 8 www.ydmt.org).

Author: Mike Bagshaw

Publisher: Bradt Travel Guides

ISBN: 9781841625492

Category: Travel

Page: 192

View: 722

The Yorkshire Dales is one of the best loved and most visited National Parks in Britain. This guide celebrates the beautiful limestone landscapes it contains, both above and below ground. It encourages visitors to stray away from the honey-pot venues, sampling wildlife in the hidden corners and meeting the true Dales-folk in sleepy villages off the beaten track.
Categories: Travel

Yorkshire Dales Walks with Children

Yorkshire Dales Walks with Children

Look out here for a small flight of " secret " steps just to the left of the arch which emerge at the top of the ruined wall on the other side . However , do not send a child up these – there is a sudden drop on the other side .

Author: Steve Rickerby

Publisher: Sigma Press

ISBN: 1850585695

Category: Family recreation

Page: 145

View: 989

Categories: Family recreation

Landmark Visitor Guide Yorkshire Dales

Landmark Visitor Guide Yorkshire Dales

Proceed through the town on the main road to Bainbridge affording an opportunity to enter into secret Raydale and enjoy quiet Semer Water , return to Bainbridge . The A684 heads on to Aysgarth . On entering the village , take the second ...

Author: Ron Scholes

Publisher: Hunter Publishing, Inc

ISBN: 1843062097

Category: Travel

Page: 191

View: 698

This guide provides details of short circular walking routes around the Yorkshire Dales, including the Herriot Way and the Lower Dales Route. Information on local amenities, attractions and accommodation is also included.
Categories: Travel

Secret Shakespeare

Secret Shakespeare

season of miracle plays toured through the Yorkshire Dales by a troupe of recusant actors , and it is easy to see how Edgar's ' popish imposture ' as Poor Tom might resonate in that country of secret tunnels , priest - holes and hidden ...

Author: Mallilnckrodt Research Professor of Physics Richard Wilson, MD MS

Publisher: Manchester University Press

ISBN: 0719070244

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 326

View: 505

Includes essays on Venus and Adonis, A midsummer night's dream, Othello, Macbeth, The tempest, Cardenio, and King Lear.
Categories: Literary Criticism

Secret Kendal

Secret Kendal

... Industry 5 The People of Kendal 6 Buildings 7 The Streets and Hidden Places 8 Festivals, Sports and Pastimes About the Author Acknowledgements Select Bibliography Introduction Kendal nestles between the Yorkshire Dales to the east.

Author: Andrew Graham Stables

Publisher: Amberley Publishing Limited

ISBN: 9781445668055

Category: Photography

Page: 96

View: 774

Explore Kendal's secret history through a fascinating selection of stories, facts and photographs.
Categories: Photography

The Governess s Secret Baby

The Governess s Secret Baby

Author Note The Governess's Secret Baby is book four in The Governess Tales series, but it is a standalone story and can be ... I loved bringing to life the gothic Shiverstone Hall, nestled below Shiver Crag in the Yorkshire Dales, ...

Author: Janice Preston

Publisher: Harlequin

ISBN: 9781488004520

Category: Fiction

Page: 288

View: 233

The beauty who tamed the beast… New governess Grace Bertram will do anything to get to know her young daughter, Clara. Even if it means working for Clara's guardian, the reclusive and scarred Nathaniel, Marquess of Ravenwell! Nathaniel believes no woman could ever love a monster like him, until Grace seems to look past his scars to the man beneath… But when he discovers Grace is Clara's mother, Nathaniel questions his place in this torn-apart family. Could there be a Christmas happy-ever-after for this beauty and the beast?
Categories: Fiction

The Botticelli Secret

The Botticelli Secret

She was born in Manchester and raised in the Yorkshire Dales.Sheis a history graduate of Oxford University and the University of Venice,where she specializedinthestudy of Shakespeare's plays as an historical source.

Author: Marina Fiorato

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9781848547995

Category: Fiction

Page: 576

View: 333

The third unforgettable historical love story set in Italy from Marina Fiorato, author of the bestseller THE GLASSBLOWER OF MURANO. For fans of Philippa Gregory, Sarah Dunant and Alison Weir. Florence looks like gold and smells like sulphur . . .In the colourful world of fifteenth-century Italy, Luciana Vetra is young and beautiful, a part-time model and full-time whore. When she is asked to pose as the goddess Flora for Sandro Botticelli's painting La Primavera, she is willing to oblige - until the artist abruptly sends her away without payment. Affronted, she steals an unfinished version of the painting - only to find that someone is ready to kill her to get it back. As friends and associates are murdered around her, Luciana turns to the one man who has never tried to exploit her beauty, Brother Guido della Torre, a novice at the monastery of Santa Croce. Fleeing Florence together, Luciana and Guido race through the nine great cities of Renaissance Italy, desperately trying to decode the painting's secrets before their enemies stop them.
Categories: Fiction