Shelter Me

Shelter Me

Catherine Mann. Berkley Sensation titles by Catherine Mann Second Chance Ranch Novels SHELTER ME DarkOps Novels DEFENDER HOTSHOT RENEGADE PROTECTOR GUARDIAN QHELTEIZ VWE >'\ CATHERINE MANN BERKLEY SENSATION, NEW YORK THE.

Author: Catherine Mann

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 9781101637487

Category: Fiction

Page: 336

View: 115

From the USA Today bestselling Catherine Mann comes this beautiful, heartwarming novel about a returning soldier, the daughter of his fallen commander, and a very special dog with a mission. For fans of Jill Shalvis and Susan Mallery. Nestled in the sunny fields of Tennessee lies the McDaniel family’s Second Chance Ranch Animal Rescue. Two new arrivals are on their way, but only one is the four-legged kind. Staff Sergeant Mike Kowalski wants only one thing after he gets home from Iraq: to sleep in a king-sized bed with clean sheets. But first, he has to hand off his fallen commander’s dog, Trooper, to his family without handing off his heart to Sierra… Sierra McDaniel needs a break. Her family life is crazy, and when she’s not mucking out kennels, she’s slogging through grad school. Sierra certainly doesn’t want another dog, especially one that reminds her of her father. And she definitely doesn’t want to see Mike with that charming smile of his… But Trooper has a mission of his own. Before too long Mike is moving to the ranch to lend a hand—and hoping for his own second chance with Sierra.
Categories: Fiction

In the Shelter

In the Shelter

Shelter me today, against the flitting nature of my ownfocus, and help me find a calm kind of standing. Andwhen Ifalter, which is likely, give me thecourage and the kindness to begin again with hope andcoping.

Author: Padraig O Tuama

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9781444791716

Category: Religion

Page: 272

View: 140

It is in the shelter of each other that the people live. Drawing on this Irish saying, poet, storyteller and theologian Pádraig Ó Tuama relates ideas of shelter and welcome to journeys of life, using poetry, story, biblical refelction and prose to open up gentle ways of living well in a troubled world. The fourth gospel tells of Jesus arriving in the room where the disciples are gathered, full of fear, on Easter Sunday. He does not chide or admonish; instead he says 'Peace be with you', which, in the Aramaic of his day, was simply a greeting. To people locked in a room of fear he said 'Hello,' welcoming them to a place of deep encounter: encounter with themselves, with their fear, with each other and with the incarnate one in their midst. Interweaving everyday stories with narrative theology, gospel reflections with mindfulness and Celtic spirituality with poetry, In the Shelter reveals the transformational power of welcome.
Categories: Religion

A Dictionary of the Kalispel Or Flat head Indian Language

A Dictionary of the Kalispel Or Flat head Indian Language

( 8 ) I shelter it from wind . " kõimłtem , kòimhten , v . rel . I shelter his ...... from wind . “ kołkóem , I shelter it under something . Chines - kóimisti , kołkóimisti , I shelter myself from wind , by going into a coulee , or in ...

Author: Joseph Giorda

Publisher:

ISBN: NYPL:33433081689949

Category: English language

Page:

View: 409

Categories: English language

Journal

Journal

After having offered him the costly presents , he said , “ Grant me shelter , generous Ráo , shelter me in my distress . I have gone to the courts of the kings of Kandesh , Kábul , Multán , Káshmír , Guzerat , Gandwáná and Bengal ...

Author: Asiatic Society (Calcutta, India)

Publisher:

ISBN: STANFORD:36105010193964

Category: Asia

Page:

View: 106

Categories: Asia

Hafed prince of Persia his experiences being spirit communications received through D Duguid with an appendix compiled by H Nisbet

Hafed  prince of Persia  his experiences  being spirit communications received through D  Duguid  with an appendix  compiled by H  Nisbet

Now for me , a single man , to undertake this mission , to go out to the people of Egypt and proclaim such doctrines ... Well I knew that , though left alone without a roof to shelter me , the Great Father would protect me from all ill ...

Author: David Duguid

Publisher:

ISBN: OXFORD:600070268

Category:

Page:

View: 746

Categories:

Hello World

Hello World

When you died, Mum, we hid in our shelter, me, Joe and Dad. Our world-proof shelter. It didn't work. And when Penny came along, I tried to bring her into it, shelter her from the world too. But you can't hide from the world.

Author: Murray Ewing

Publisher: Bookship

ISBN: 9780993423932

Category: Fiction

Page: 266

View: 722

It’s 1984, and 13-year-old Tim is sitting on the school roof, waiting for the world to end. Or at least for it to start making sense. His life used to make sense. It was made up of two things: the exciting new world of home computers, and worries about nuclear war. There were certainly no girls in it. But then he met Penny, who’s into pop music, and somehow manages to be optimistic about life, despite having a very difficult mother. (Difficult, as in, she sometimes throws roof tiles at people.) For the first time since the death of his own mother three years ago, Tim starts to see a whole new possibility in life. Then he loses Penny. So what else is there to do but climb onto the school roof and wait for the world to end?
Categories: Fiction

Take Me Home

Take Me Home

So we went to a shelter, me and my son. So that's kind of where we went wrong, too. I had this pride and thought shelters aren't for me and I had to swallow my pride 'cause it's like I have nowhere else to go.

Author: Jill Duerr Berrick

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN: 9780190295752

Category: Social Science

Page: 208

View: 177

There is a profound crisis in the United States' foster care system, Jill Duerr Berrick writes in this expertly researched, passionately written book. No state has passed the federally mandated Child and Family Service Review; two-thirds of the state systems have faced class-action lawsuits demanding change; and most tellingly, well over half of all children who enter foster care never go home. The field of child welfare has lost its way and is neglecting its fundamental responsibility to the most vulnerable children and families in America. The family stories Berrick weaves throughout the chapters provide a vivid backdrop for her statistics. Amanda, raised in foster care, began having children of her own while still a teen and lost them to the system when she became addicted to drugs. Tracy, brought up by her schizophrenic single mother, gave birth to the first of eight children at age fourteen and saw them all shuffled through foster care as she dealt drugs and went to prison. Both they and the other individuals that Berrick features spent years without adequate support from social workers or the government before finally achieving a healthier life; many people never do. But despite the clear crisis in child welfare, most calls for reform have focused on unproven prevention methods, not on improving the situation for those already caught in the system. Berrick argues that real child welfare reform will only occur when the centerpiece of child welfare - reunification, permanency, and foster care - is reaffirmed. Take Me Home reminds us that children need long-term caregivers who can help them develop and thrive. When troubled parents can't change enough to permit reunification, alternative permanency options must be pursued. And no reform will matter for the hundreds of thousands of children entering foster care each year in America unless their experience of out-of-home care is considerably better than the one many now experience. Take Me Home offers prescriptions for policy change and strategies for parents, social workers, and judges struggling with permanency decisions. Readers will come away reinvigorated in their thinking about how to get children to the homes they need.
Categories: Social Science

The Disciple of Christ

The Disciple of Christ

“ Jesus , lover of my soul , ” I have wandered far from Thee ; Now a wayward child I come , Let Thy strong arm shelter me ! • Leave , oh , leave me not alone ! ” Earthly friends may from me fee ; Let me feel that Thou wilt e'er " Still ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: HARVARD:AH6FNF

Category:

Page:

View: 875

Categories:

The Grihya sutras

The Grihya sutras

Shelter me from evil . . Do not shelter me from splendour and glory . ' 30. ... With ( the words ) , ' From all powers of destruction protect me on all sides , ' he takes a bamboo staff . 32. ( For ) the tooth - cleaner , & c .

Author: Hermann Oldenberg

Publisher:

ISBN: STANFORD:36105008442845

Category: Hinduism

Page:

View: 602

Categories: Hinduism

The Poetical Works of Lord Byron

The Poetical Works of Lord Byron

The same myself . But will you shelter me ? Gab . Scarce honestly , to say the truth on't , I am oppress'd like you — and poor like you , Although I almost wish you had the baron's DisgracedWer .

Author: George Gordon Byron Baron Byron

Publisher:

ISBN: STANFORD:36105047989327

Category:

Page: 829

View: 678

Categories: