Spirit Run

Spirit Run

A 6,000-Mile Marathon Through North America's Stolen Land Noe Alvarez. arose), his run-in with a mountain lion—all while harkening back to poignant passages of his parents' migration story, with thematic connections to the run's ...

Author: Noe Alvarez

Publisher: Catapult

ISBN: 9781948226479

Category: Sports & Recreation

Page: 240

View: 993

In this New York Times Book Review Editors’ Choice, the son of working-class Mexican immigrants flees a life of labor in fruit-packing plants to run in a Native American marathon from Canada to Guatemala in this "stunning memoir that moves to the rhythm of feet, labor, and the many landscapes of the Americas" (Catriona Menzies-Pike, author of The Long Run). Growing up in Yakima, Washington, Noé Álvarez worked at an apple–packing plant alongside his mother, who “slouched over a conveyor belt of fruit, shoulder to shoulder with mothers conditioned to believe this was all they could do with their lives.” A university scholarship offered escape, but as a first–generation Latino college–goer, Álvarez struggled to fit in. At nineteen, he learned about a Native American/First Nations movement called the Peace and Dignity Journeys, epic marathons meant to renew cultural connections across North America. He dropped out of school and joined a group of Dené, Secwépemc, Gitxsan, Dakelh, Apache, Tohono O’odham, Seri, Purépecha, and Maya runners, all fleeing difficult beginnings. Telling their stories alongside his own, Álvarez writes about a four–month–long journey from Canada to Guatemala that pushed him to his limits. He writes not only of overcoming hunger, thirst, and fear—dangers included stone–throwing motorists and a mountain lion—but also of asserting Indigenous and working–class humanity in a capitalist society where oil extraction, deforestation, and substance abuse wreck communities. Running through mountains, deserts, and cities, and through the Mexican territory his parents left behind, Álvarez forges a new relationship with the land, and with the act of running, carrying with him the knowledge of his parents’ migration, and—against all odds in a society that exploits his body and rejects his spirit—the dream of a liberated future. "This book is not like any other out there. You will see this country in a fresh way, and you might see aspects of your own soul. A beautiful run." —Luís Alberto Urrea, author of The House of Broken Angels "When the son of two Mexican immigrants hears about the Peace and Dignity Journeys—'epic marathons meant to renew cultural connections across North America'—he’s compelled enough to drop out of college and sign up for one. Spirit Run is Noé Álvarez’s account of the four months he spends trekking from Canada to Guatemala alongside Native Americans representing nine tribes, all of whom are seeking brighter futures through running, self–exploration, and renewed relationships with the land they’ve traversed." —Runner's World, Best New Running Books of 2020 "An anthem to the landscape that holds our identities and traumas, and its profound power to heal them." —Francisco Cantú, author of The Line Becomes a River
Categories: Sports & Recreation

Diversity Culture and Counselling 3rd Ed

Diversity  Culture and Counselling  3rd Ed

He meditates for the courage and the clarity to lead Indigenous warriors safely across vast lands. —Noé Alvarez (2020), Spirit Run: A 6,000- Mile Marathon Through North America's Stolen Lands The issues that face Indigenous people in ...

Author: M. Honore France

Publisher: Brush Education

ISBN: 9781550598759

Category: Psychology

Page: 612

View: 998

A uniquely Canadian approach to multicultural counselling In a country as diverse as Canada, a multicultural counselling approach provides an essential starting point for working with people from different ethnicities, sexualities, gender identities, abilities and religious backgrounds. Bringing Canadian perspectives to the field of multicultural counselling, this collection provides practical approaches to counselling in Indigenous, Asian, Black Canadian, Hispanic, South Asian and LGBTQ2+ communities, among others, along with advice for treating migrant and refugee clients. The third edition of Diversity, Culture and Counselling addresses crucial issues such as systemic racism, immigration policy, climate change, and discriminatory policies, reflecting the many changes that have arisen in Canada since the publication of the second edition. Along with an all-new chapter on counselling during a national crisis, each chapter has been revised to reflect the current state of diversity in Canadian counselling with contributors from a range of backgrounds.
Categories: Psychology

The Sunset Route

The Sunset Route

The unforgettable story of one woman who leaves behind her hardscrabble childhood in Alaska to travel the country via freight train—a beautiful memoir about forgiveness, self-discovery, and the redemptive power of nature, perfect for fans ...

Author: Carrot Quinn

Publisher: Dial Press

ISBN: 9780593133293

Category: Biography & Autobiography

Page: 320

View: 537

The unforgettable story of one woman who leaves behind her hardscrabble childhood in Alaska to travel the country via freight train—a beautiful memoir about forgiveness, self-discovery, and the redemptive power of nature, perfect for fans of Wild or Educated. “An urgent read. A courageous life. Quinn’s story burns through us and bleeds beauty on every page.”—Noé Álvarez, author of Spirit Run: A 6,000-Mile Marathon Through North America’s Stolen Land After a childhood marked by neglect, poverty, and periods of homelessness, with a mother who believed herself to be the reincarnation of the Virgin Mary, Carrot Quinn moved out on her own. She found a sense of belonging among straight-edge anarchists who taught her how to traverse the country by freight trains, sleep in fields under the stars, and feed herself by foraging in dumpsters. Her new life was one of thrilling adventure and freedom, but still she was haunted by the ghosts of her lonely and traumatic childhood. The Sunset Route is a powerful and brazenly honest adventure memoir set in the unseen corners of the United States—in the Alaskan cold, on trains rattling through forests and deserts, as well as in low-income apartments and crowded punk houses—following a remarkable protagonist who has witnessed more tragedy than she thought she could ever endure and who must learn to heal her own heart. Ultimately, it is a meditation on the natural world as a spiritual anchor, and on the ways that forgiveness can set us free.
Categories: Biography & Autobiography

Porter s Spirit of the Times

Porter s Spirit of the Times

1 00 & 1 50 25 & 2 00 6 GAME & 9 & 75 no 3 50 6 FIBIL , 6 # 16 YRUIT . ... Mutton and lamb of America , but that he is threatened with dethronement , there people in our great thoroughfare on the first day of the work , as thronged are ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UCLA:L0054873930

Category: New York (N.Y.)

Page:

View: 675

Categories: New York (N.Y.)

Popular Science

Popular Science

The fact that two of this year's inductees—Astroboy and C3PO—are imaginary is typical in a field that lingers somewhere ... The limitations of both (Sandstorm crashed 7.4 miles into the race, and Valerie listens only to keystrokes) ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 186

View: 435

Popular Science gives our readers the information and tools to improve their technology and their world. The core belief that Popular Science and our readers share: The future is going to be better, and science and technology are the driving forces that will help make it better.
Categories:

Popular Mechanics

Popular Mechanics

1 For 98 out of the 100 years of the 20th century, POPULARMECHANICS has been the chroniclerofthe technology that has changed the world in which we live. Now as we embark on a new century, we present this special issue, our I 177th issue ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 140

View: 601

Popular Mechanics inspires, instructs and influences readers to help them master the modern world. Whether it’s practical DIY home-improvement tips, gadgets and digital technology, information on the newest cars or the latest breakthroughs in science -- PM is the ultimate guide to our high-tech lifestyle.
Categories:

Harper s Weekly

Harper s Weekly

It is told that Alden first went to ask the hand of Priscilla for his friend Miles Standish . ... On her way she met the and handed him 100,000 francs . in America , as they would be on $ 6000 in New white - haired man , and with a ...

Author: John Bonner

Publisher:

ISBN: STANFORD:36105004961426

Category: American periodicals

Page:

View: 567

Categories: American periodicals

Popular Science

Popular Science

platitude and dogma, or has denied to him the opportunity of spending his energies in the cultivation of a land of promise. The kindling enthusiasm of the man of science must not, however, ]>e confused with the philistine's boast that ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 102

View: 811

Popular Science gives our readers the information and tools to improve their technology and their world. The core belief that Popular Science and our readers share: The future is going to be better, and science and technology are the driving forces that will help make it better.
Categories:

Backpacker

Backpacker

"o"; "Wogo BY KRISTIN HISTETTER, EUUIPMENT EDITDR There are all sorts of creative and deceitful ways to. 2000 W WWW.BACKPACKER.COM.

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page: 206

View: 535

Backpacker brings the outdoors straight to the reader's doorstep, inspiring and enabling them to go more places and enjoy nature more often. The authority on active adventure, Backpacker is the world's first GPS-enabled magazine, and the only magazine whose editors personally test the hiking trails, camping gear, and survival tips they publish. Backpacker's Editors' Choice Awards, an industry honor recognizing design, feature and product innovation, has become the gold standard against which all other outdoor-industry awards are measured.
Categories:

The Athenaeum

The Athenaeum

Yankeeland . The Georgia Central Railway was , I has been bought in Florida at a cent per acre ; but for “ The lust of ... Some Having bought , borrowed , or stolen a few head of present us with four kingdoms at once , ' and so fifteen ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: KBNL:KBNL03000274234

Category: England

Page:

View: 750

Categories: England