The Dove and the Mole

The Dove and the Mole

Author: Moshe Lazar

Publisher:

ISBN: UCSC:32106008326909

Category: Fiction

Page: 226

View: 356

Categories: Fiction

The Doves and the Mole

The Doves and the Mole

The moles made the doves welcome . The doves , too , remembered their manners . The moles led the doves to the granary to feast . What a celebration they had ! “ How could you be so certain where to bring us ? ' the old dove asked ...

Author: Kalpish Ratna

Publisher: Penguin Books India

ISBN: 1844222136

Category: Fables

Page: 32

View: 948

Generations of children have grown up with and loved these timeless Indian Tales. Easy - to - read re - tellings of classic Indian stories are enhanced by exciting, richly colourful illustrations and faithfully capture the magic of the original stories.
Categories: Fables

Rambles by Rivers

Rambles by Rivers

Author: James Thorne

Publisher:

ISBN: COLUMBIA:0036698776

Category: England

Page: 235

View: 245

Categories: England

The Millionaires Unit

The Millionaires  Unit

Finally on a third attempt, he saw the Mole through the clouds and dove on it. Streams of tracers and bursts of flak swept past him before he dropped his “pills” and raced for home. Piloting the sixth Camel in the flight, MacLeish dove ...

Author: Marc Wortman

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 9781586485443

Category: History

Page: 336

View: 270

The Millionaires' Unit is the story of a gilded generation of young men from the zenith of privilege: a Rockefeller, the son of the head of the Union Pacific Railroad, several who counted friends and relatives among presidents and statesmen of the day. They had it all and, remarkably by modern standards, they were prepared to risk it all to fight a distant war in France. Driven by the belief that their membership in the American elite required certain sacrifice, schooled in heroism and the nature of leadership, they determined to be first into the conflict, leading the way ahead of America's declaration that it would join the war. At the heart of the group was the Yale flying club, six of whom are the heroes of this book. They would share rivalries over girlfriends, jealousies over membership in Skull and Bones, and fierce ambition to be the most daring young man over the battlefields of France, where the casualties among flyers were chillingly high. One of the six would go on to become the principal architect of the American Air Force's first strategic bomber force. Others would bring home decorations and tales of high life experiences in Paris. Some would not return, having made the greatest sacrifice of all in perhaps the last noble war. For readers of Flyboys , The Greatest Generation , or Flags Of Our Fathers , this patriotic, romantic, absorbing book is narrative military history of the best kind.
Categories: History

Rambles by Rivers

Rambles by Rivers

This work has been selected by scholars as being culturally important, and is part of the knowledge base of civilization as we know it.

Author: James Thorne

Publisher: Andesite Press

ISBN: 1297648994

Category:

Page: 500

View: 991

This work has been selected by scholars as being culturally important, and is part of the knowledge base of civilization as we know it. This work was reproduced from the original artifact, and remains as true to the original work as possible. Therefore, you will see the original copyright references, library stamps (as most of these works have been housed in our most important libraries around the world), and other notations in the work. This work is in the public domain in the United States of America, and possibly other nations. Within the United States, you may freely copy and distribute this work, as no entity (individual or corporate) has a copyright on the body of the work.As a reproduction of a historical artifact, this work may contain missing or blurred pages, poor pictures, errant marks, etc. Scholars believe, and we concur, that this work is important enough to be preserved, reproduced, and made generally available to the public. We appreciate your support of the preservation process, and thank you for being an important part of keeping this knowledge alive and relevant.
Categories:

Rambles by Rivers

Rambles by Rivers

About the Publisher Forgotten Books publishes hundreds of thousands of rare and classic books. Find more at www.forgottenbooks.com This book is a reproduction of an important historical work.

Author: James Thorne

Publisher: Forgotten Books

ISBN: 0282439625

Category: Social Science

Page: 500

View: 103

Excerpt from Rambles by Rivers: The Duddon; The Mole; The Adur, Arun, and Wey; The Lea; The Dove Murmuring near the running brooks A music sweeter than their own. Southey, in speaking of one of them, says, I could sit for hours to watch the motions of a brook. And he must be dull indeed who could wander without emotion along one that has been mg of by a great poet; or not have the feeling its natural beauty may arouse deepened by association with the genius it has inspired. About the Publisher Forgotten Books publishes hundreds of thousands of rare and classic books. Find more at www.forgottenbooks.com This book is a reproduction of an important historical work. Forgotten Books uses state-of-the-art technology to digitally reconstruct the work, preserving the original format whilst repairing imperfections present in the aged copy. In rare cases, an imperfection in the original, such as a blemish or missing page, may be replicated in our edition. We do, however, repair the vast majority of imperfections successfully; any imperfections that remain are intentionally left to preserve the state of such historical works.
Categories: Social Science

Castle Hangnail

Castle Hangnail

It was a mole. Molly rolled on her side to look at it better and the mole dove back underground, startled. ... She knew people didn't like moles because they dug tunnels in the lawn, but she'd always thought the tunnels were more ...

Author: Ursula Vernon

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 9780698154148

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 384

View: 129

From the creator of Dragonbreath comes a tale of witches, minions, and one fantastic castle, just right for fans of Roald Dahl and Tom Angleberger. When Molly shows up on Castle Hangnail's doorstep to fill the vacancy for a wicked witch, the castle's minions are understandably dubious. After all, she is twelve years old, barely five feet tall, and quite polite. (The minions are used to tall, demanding evil sorceresses with razor-sharp cheekbones.) But the castle desperately needs a master or else the Board of Magic will decommission it, leaving all the minions without the home they love. So when Molly assures them she is quite wicked indeed (So wicked! REALLY wicked!) and begins completing the tasks required by the Board of Magic for approval, everyone feels hopeful. Unfortunately, it turns out that Molly has quite a few secrets, including the biggest one of all: that she isn't who she says she is. This quirky, richly illustrated novel is filled with humor, magic, and an unforgettable all-star cast of castle characters.
Categories: Juvenile Fiction

Bingley s History of Animated Nature

Bingley s History of Animated Nature

When the Mole has passed half - way through one of these nooses , and removes the central peg in his progress , the bent stick rises by its ... It is like shot silk , changing from green to copper color like the neck of a Dove .

Author: William Bingley

Publisher:

ISBN: OSU:32435079830634

Category: Animal behavior

Page: 1200

View: 520

Categories: Animal behavior

The Sunday at Home

The Sunday at Home

He can bring back Cilla , " apostrophised the mole - catcher . Coo , coo , ” sounded in response . He raised his head , and on a gnarled branch of the oak saw a white dove or wood - pigeon . His exclamation of surprise brought forth ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UOM:39015068375701

Category:

Page:

View: 423

Categories:

Lost in the American City

Lost in the American City

For the stress on photography, see Franca Schettino, “Photography in Kafka's Amerika,” in Moshe Lazar and Ronald Gottesman, The Dove and the Mole: Kafka's Journey into Darkness and Creativity (Malibu: Undena Publications, 1987), pp.

Author: J. Tambling

Publisher: Springer

ISBN: 9780312292638

Category: Literary Criticism

Page: 234

View: 563

In Lost in the American City , Jeremy Tambling looks at European reactions to America and American cities in the nineteenth-century. Dickens visited America in 1842 and his American Notes and Martin Chuzzlewit set the agenda for future discussions of America. Lost in the American City looks at the Dickens legacy through Henry James in The American Scene , through H.G. Wells in The Future in America , and through Kafka, whose novel America (or The Man Who Was Never Heard of Again ) tried to re-write Dickens. Lost in the American City explores the changes in American nineteenth century urban culture which made America so different and so impossible to map for the European, and which made American modernity so unreadable and challenging.
Categories: Literary Criticism