The Half Sister

The Half Sister

'You'd never know we were sisters, just looking at us,' says Valerie. 'Half-sisters,' Diana reminds her. 'You've got your father's eyes.' Giggling, Michael points at the screen. 'It looks like the statue behind is about to hit Diana on ...

Author: Catherine Chanter

Publisher: Canongate Books

ISBN: 9781786891259

Category: Fiction

Page: 400

View: 120

When she was sixteen, Diana left her unhappy family and set out to make a new life. Twenty-five years later, she has arrived. Recently married to Edmund, she lives with him at his family’s historic country home. But when Diana hears that her mother has died, she impulsively asks estranged half-sister Valerie and her nine-year-old son to stay. The night of the funeral, fueled by wine and years of resentment, the sisters argue and a terrible accident occurs. The foundations of a well-ordered life start to crack and the lies begin to surface, one dangerous secret after another. And then there’s the boy, watching, waiting. The Half Sister is a profound and haunting portrayal of those who are imprisoned by their past and by the struggle to find the words which will release them.
Categories: Fiction

The Half Sisters

The Half Sisters

ment to Conrad , he told him how , in a lady whom she called Mrs. Bryant , and whose name was “ Alice , " she had discovered her half - sister . “ Ah ! that is strange , ” said Bryant , “ and must be some one else - my - Alice , I mean ...

Author: Geraldine Endsor Jewsbury

Publisher:

ISBN: OXFORD:555007282

Category: Actresses

Page:

View: 621

Categories: Actresses

the half sisters

the half sisters

... if I had stayed home, it would have corrupted me. It would have turned me into a stage mother." And then as an afterthought she said, "Erica's marvelous." "I know, of course," said Frank, "that academic life is 120 THE HALF-SISTERS.

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN:

Category:

Page:

View: 884

Categories:

Kamilaroi and Kurnai

Kamilaroi and Kurnai

with the The Kamilaroi marriage with the paternal half - sister is The Kamilaroi specially interesting in that it affords an instance of rebellion marriage against the class law . It is a partially - successful assertion half - sister ...

Author: Lorimer Fison

Publisher:

ISBN: UIUC:30112049672790

Category: Social Science

Page: 372

View: 215

This reprint is of particular relevance to Koories of Kurnai descent and to all students of Aboriginal anthropology and the history of ideas. It was already a classic in 1899, when Spencer and Gillen dedicated The Native Tribes of Central Australia, to Howitt and Fison, 'who laid the foundation of our knowledge of Australian anthropology'. Professor AP Elkin told the 1961 conference inaugurating the Australian Institute of Aboriginal Studies, that 'the publication of Kamilaroi and Kurnai in 1880 was a landmark in Australian anthropology'. Indeed, this was the first major analysis of Aboriginal social structure, adopting a model today termed 'social Darwinist' theory. This evolutionist approach is now rejected, but it exerted tremendous influence on European attitudes for decades. It is an important sourcebook for such ideas. Lewis Henry Morgan, who wrote the preface, was a founding father of American anthropology. His Ancient Society, which drew upon his correspondence with Fison and Howitt, influenced the Marxist classic The Origin of the Family, by Frederick Engels. Although Fison's chapters are theoretical and general, Howitt's are packed with rich detail, such as the names of his informants and localities. This lifts his section beyond the realm of abstract and outmoded theory, although it includes material which today would be classed as secret.
Categories: Social Science

The New York State Reporter

The New York State Reporter

One of the sons dies intestate ; the elder of two surviving brothers takes out administration , and Sir Lionel Jenkins , judge of the prerogative court , would compel the administrator to make distributfon to the sisters of the half ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: HARVARD:32044078598067

Category: Law reports, digests, etc

Page:

View: 758

"Containing all the current decisions of the courts of record of New York State, namely: Court of Appeals, Supreme Court, New York Superior Court, New York Common Pleas, Superior Court of Buffalo, City Court of New York, City Court of Brooklyn, and the Surrogates' Courts" (varies slightly).
Categories: Law reports, digests, etc

The Princes of Persia

The Princes of Persia

Shepenwepet II was the half-sister of his son Taharqa, as well as the half-sister of his heir Sennacherib/Menkheperre, and the mother of the next successor Assurbanipal/Smendes II. She was however also the mother of sons by rivals to ...

Author: Charles N. Pope

Publisher: DomainOfMan.com

ISBN:

Category: History

Page: 232

View: 850

Significance of the Persian Period in royal and biblical history.
Categories: History

Peace Through the Truth Or Essays on Subjects Connected with Dr Pusey s Eirenicon

Peace Through the Truth  Or  Essays on Subjects Connected with Dr  Pusey s Eirenicon

Husband's sister's son . A. Note . In this list the letter A prefixed to a degree signifies that it is a degree of affinity ; while the letter C denotes a degree of consanguinity . ; It is worthy of remark that , i . Half - brother and ...

Author: Thomas Harper

Publisher:

ISBN: NYPL:33433075969984

Category: Consanguinity

Page:

View: 162

Categories: Consanguinity

The Half Sister

The Half Sister

The Half Sister is the compelling, twisty novel from Sandie Jones, the author of The Other Woman.

Author: Sandie Jones

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

ISBN: 9781529033021

Category: Fiction

Page: 448

View: 956

The Half Sister is the compelling, twisty novel from Sandie Jones, the author of The Other Woman. Perfect for fans of Sally Hepworth’s The Mother-in-Law and Michelle Frances’ The Daughter. Her arrival will ruin everything . . . Kate and Lauren. Sisters who are always there for each other. But as they gather for their weekly Sunday lunch, a knock on the door changes everything. The new arrival, Jess, claims to be their half-sister, but that would mean the unthinkable . . . That she’s the secret daughter of their beloved, recently deceased father Harry. Their mother Rose is devastated and Kate and Lauren refuse to believe Jess’s lies. But as the fall-out starts it’s clear that each is hiding secrets and that perhaps this family isn’t as perfect as they appear. Where there was truth, now there are lies and only one thing is certain, their half-sister’s arrival has ruined everything . . .
Categories: Fiction

An Almanack for the Year of Our Lord Established 1868 by Joseph Whitaker Containing an Account of the Astronomical and Other Phenomena and a Vast Amount of Information Respecting the Government Finances Population Commerce and General Statistics of the Various Nations of the World with an Index Containing Nearly 20 000 References

An Almanack for the Year of Our Lord      Established 1868 by Joseph Whitaker Containing an Account of the Astronomical and Other Phenomena and a Vast Amount of Information Respecting the Government  Finances  Population  Commerce  and General Statistics of the Various Nations of the World with an Index Containing Nearly 20 000 References

Father , and brother or sister Whole to father . Mother , and brother or sister Whole to them equally . Wife , mother , brother , sisters , and nieces Half to wife , residue to mother , brothers , sisters , and nieces .

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: KBNL:KBNL03000269794

Category: Almanacs, English

Page:

View: 625

Categories: Almanacs, English

The Northeastern Reporter

The Northeastern Reporter

When a statute does not really require a different interpretation , we believe that justice is best promoted by preferring brothers and sisters of the half blood to others more distantly related ; and in that view we think the ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: HARVARD:32044103145546

Category: Law reports, digests, etc

Page:

View: 607

Includes the decisions of the Supreme Courts of Massachusetts, Ohio, Indiana, and Illinois, and Court of Appeals of New York; May/July 1891-Mar./Apr. 1936, Appellate Court of Indiana; Dec. 1926/Feb. 1927-Mar./Apr. 1936, Courts of Appeals of Ohio.
Categories: Law reports, digests, etc