A Study of the Personality of the Only Child

A Study of the Personality of the Only Child

The University of Wisconsin Library Manuscript Theses Unpublished the ses submitted for the Master ' s and Doctor ' s degrees and deposited in The University of Wisconsin Library are open for inspection , but are to be used only with ...

Author: Sarajane Seiden

Publisher:

ISBN: WISC:89105702849

Category: Only child

Page: 372

View: 627

Categories: Only child

United States Congressional Serial Set

United States Congressional Serial Set

In so far as above questions apply , describe twins , the only boy , the only girl , and the youngest child in families . State anything else you may think to be due to the fact that they are the only child , only boy , only girl ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UCAL:B3990514

Category:

Page:

View: 781

Categories:

Children and Media Violence

Children and Media Violence

Yearbook from the UNESCO International Clearinghouse on Children and Violence on the Screen Ulla Carlsson, ... According to research on the personality development of Chinese urban only children, we find that the only child has a ...

Author: Ulla Carlsson

Publisher: Coronet Books Incorporated

ISBN: STANFORD:36105110673105

Category: Social Science

Page: 387

View: 130

This yearbook compiles information on research findings on children and youth and media violence, as seen from the perspective of the United Nations (UN) Convention on the Rights of the Child. The thematic focus of the yearbook is on the influence of children's exposure to media violence. Section 1 of the yearbook, "Children and Media on the UN and UNESCO Agendas," includes articles on the significance of the UN Convention on the Rights of the Child. Section 2, "Children and Violence on the Screen: Research Articles," includes articles on U.S. television violence and children, the nature and context of violence on American television, and media violence in Japan, Australia, New Zealand, Israel, Europe, and Argentina. Section 3, "Children's Media Situation: Research Articles," contains articles describing children's media access and use in various parts of the world, including Asia, China, Australia, South Africa, and Belgium. Section 4, "Media in the World," provides statistics on children and the media worldwide. Section 5, "Children in the World," details demographic indicators for children worldwide. Section 6, "Children's Participation in the Media: Some Examples," describes examples of positive child participation in the media production process. Section 7 contains international declarations and resolutions regarding children and the media. Section 8 discusses regulations and measures as a basis for building television policy. A bibliography containing approximately 300 references on children and media violence published after 1970 completes the yearbook. (KB)
Categories: Social Science

Starting at the Beginning

Starting at the Beginning

Another common phenomenon for the only child is the overemphasis on school performance. This is reflected in research showing that, while interpersonal conflicts are important stressors for 'Western' adolescents, poor academic ...

Author: Matthew Hodes

Publisher: Academic Press

ISBN: 9780128223963

Category: Education

Page: 354

View: 707

Starting at the Beginning: Laying the Foundation for Lifelong Mental Health coincides with the 24th International Association for Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and Allied Professions (IACAPAPA) Congress in Singapore, June 2020. This book examines the determinates of individual differences in children and young people, along with the origins of maladjustment and psychiatric disorders. It addresses the ways in which interventions and mental health services can be developed and shaped to address individual differences among children. Additional topics include environmental hazards and mental health and cultural psychiatry as a basic science for addressing mental health disparities. Chapters dive deeper into anxiety disorders in infants, gaming disorder, the pitfalls of treatment in OCD, and ADHD developmental neuropsychiatry. Another targeted section focuses on policies for child and adolescent mental health, including a review of mental health services in China, Oceania and East Asia. Emphasizes social and environmental influences Focuses on early developmental and infancy processes Addresses the training of child and adolescent psychiatrists across Europe Covers a range of illustrative psychiatric disorders and problems Works toward the goal of producing a mental health workforce with internationally recognized competencies
Categories: Education

Deception

Deception

“Unfortunately, since she was my only child, her duty was to find a suitable suitor, and that's what Alex was supposed to be.” “Then what happened to change things?” “Women started coming forward, accusing Alex of horrible things like ...

Author: SJS Editorial

Publisher: Author S.Frost

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 191

Do you pray? Do you believe in a higher power? If not, you better find faith when you come across me. I’m like a thief in the night. I embrace the monster, the darkness that engulfs me. Call me Michele. Call me Amedeo. Whatever you call me, it will be the last name you scream before meeting your maker. Deception will take you on a twisty mafia ride of love and deceit. Not everyone is who they appear to be.
Categories: Fiction

Blue Door Red Bowl

Blue Door  Red Bowl

All of the pressures and expectations of achieving greatness are handed over to me the moment I join the ranks of “only children” when she dies. The scrutiny must be overwhelming. Being an only child must be tough.

Author: Joseph C. Forehan

Publisher: AuthorHouse

ISBN: 9781665540810

Category: Fiction

Page: 306

View: 669

By any standard and all expectations, James leads a typical Southern California middle class upbringing. AYSO soccer, a treehouse, best friends, a first love, and then off to college. But what happens when things unexpectedly fall apart? What happens when the security and hope of a quiet and satisfying childhood is upended with death, drugs and bad relationships? This is James’ story. A story about falling down, getting back up and then falling down even further. Set in the 90’s and early 2000’s, this story takes place in a time before social media, smartphones and all that comes with the world we know today. This is a story based on social interactions and a life that is led outside, a life not set behind screens and status updates. Blue Door, Red Bowl tells the story of a man trying to make things right, a story about a life with its challenges but ultimately, a life worth living.
Categories: Fiction

The Kashmir Shawl

The Kashmir Shawl

The couple finally came back to Wales and had had their only child when Nerys was already in her forties. That daughter, Gwen, had married a neighbour from the same valley, handsome Huw Ellis, when she was only nineteen.

Author: Rosie Thomas

Publisher: HarperCollins UK

ISBN: 9780007449996

Category: Fiction

Page: 512

View: 284

For fans of The Tea-Planter’s Wife and Victoria Hislop comes a gripping story of doomed love and secrets in 1940s Kashmir.
Categories: Fiction

Psychology

Psychology

Obviously not all parents love , accept , and interact well with their children . However , it is the only child who is most vulnerable and susceptible to the family environment , good or bad . Siblings can act as a buffer , and may ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: UOM:39015076198988

Category: Human behavior

Page:

View: 544

Categories: Human behavior

Indonesian Slang

Indonesian Slang

In the old days, parents selected spouses for their children, and couples were expected to have big families. Social change and government policy weakened those customs. Anak semata wayang “One-eyed puppet child” = An only child.

Author: Christopher Torchia

Publisher: Tuttle Publishing

ISBN: 9781462910571

Category: Foreign Language Study

Page: 288

View: 117

Cekidot, gan!—"Check it out Boss!" Kamu Dodol—"You're a coconut fudge!" (You're slow on the uptake) This book is an informal compendium of Indonesian expressions, including proverbs, slang, quotations and acronyms. The unique aspects of the Indonesian language offer one of the best windows into Indonesian culture. Slang, titles, proverbs, nicknames, acronyms, quotations and other expressions reveal its character, in the words of its people and are a great way to learn Indonesian culture. This book of expressions looks at Indonesia with the help of its national language, bahasa Indonesia. It describes Indonesians and their fears, beliefs, history and politics, as well as how they live, fight, grieve and laugh. Indonesian is a variant of Malay, the national language of Malaysia, and many of its expressions come from the Malay heartland of Sumatra island. Indonesian has also incorporated terms from Javanese, the language of the dominant ethnic group in a huge nation of more than 17,000 islands. Although Indonesian is officially a young language, it contains words from Sanskrit, Arabic, Chinese, Dutch, Portuguese and English, a legacy of the merchants, warriors, laborers and holy men who traveled to the archipelago over the centuries. The Indonesian language was a nationalist symbol during the campaign against Dutch rule in the 20th century. Indonesians who fought against colonialism made it the national language in their constitution when they declared independence in 1945. Two generations later, modern Indonesians love word play. The tongue slips and skids, chopping words, piling on syllables and flipping them. Indonesians turn phrases into acronyms, and construct double meanings. Their inventions reflect social trends, mock authority, or get a point across in a hurry. This book divides Indonesian expressions into categories such as food and wisdom, politics and personalities. The format is the same in each chapter. An expression in Indonesian, or sometimes a regional language in Indonesia, is followed by a translation, an interpretation of the meaning, and usually a summary of the idiom's origin or background. Some translations are more literal than others, reflecting an effort to balance clarity of meaning with the flavor of the original words.
Categories: Foreign Language Study