The Rain Maiden and the Bear Man

The Rain Maiden and the Bear Man

In these stories, illustrated in full color by graphic artist Sunandini Banerjee, Kire brings Nagaland come alive with her rich portrayal of both the natural and the spiritual world, which, to the Naga mind, harmoniously coexisted until the ...

Author: Easterine Kire

Publisher: India List

ISBN: 0857426184

Category: Art

Page: 136

View: 132

In Easterine Kire's stories, the boundaries between magic and reality drift away, leaving us to marvel at simple yet fantastical folktales about human connection. The title story in this collection is about feeling trapped by other people's definitions of who we are. The Bear-man finds love in the beautiful and compassionate Rain-maiden but thinks he would never be good enough for her. He concludes that if he reveals his true feelings she would ridicule him like everyone in his life has always done. He grows gruff and antisocial, believing that he could never find friendship--least of all, love. The other stories in this collection represent oral narratives from the people of Nagaland in northeast India, stories shared privately around a glowing hearth--spirit stories that the narrators swear are true encounters. While "Forest Song," "New Road," "River and Earth Story," and "The Man Who Lost His Spirit" were narrated to the author by local storytellers, "The Man Who Went to Heaven" and "One Day" are entirely based on Naga folktales. "The Weretigerman," meanwhile, is woven around the pre-Christian Naga tradition of certain men becoming dual-souled with the tiger. In these stories, illustrated in full color by graphic artist Sunandini Banerjee, Kire brings Nagaland come alive with her rich portrayal of both the natural and the spiritual world, which, to the Naga mind, harmoniously coexisted until the recent past.
Categories: Art

The Rain Maiden

The Rain Maiden

They bear nothing of each other in their faces Even love . ... Henry was a logical man : logic told him that Harry , who was so charming and loved by all , was a vain , foolish , capricious , haughty boy with little character and even ...

Author: Jill M. Phillips

Publisher: Tudor Publishers

ISBN: 0944276180

Category: France

Page: 660

View: 925

Isabel came to France as a child-bride to King Philippe-Auguste, and her husband scorned her--until she set his bedchamber afire with her wild sexual exploration. And as she grew older, Isabel charmed and seduced all of Europe. An outrageously sexy story of a 12th-century seductress.
Categories: France

Where the Rain Children Sleep

Where the Rain Children Sleep

The story of Changing Bear Maiden is forever linked to this place, in what author Terry Tempest Williams has called “a ... According to this myth, a young Diné woman turned evil and devious by marrying Old Man Coyote, the classical ...

Author:

Publisher: U of Nebraska Press

ISBN: 9780803229907

Category: Science

Page: 232

View: 974

Written in the tradition of Edward Abbey and Terry Tempest Williams, this collection of essays inspired by a year spent hiking 120 desert canyons explores the "sacred geography" of the West, discussing a wide range of issues, from bears to spatial intelligence.
Categories: Science

Dance in the Rain

Dance in the Rain

The Great Spirit gave me a dream and told me that because yourfaith and love is so strong, He could not bear to take me to the Land ofShadows. ” The young brave stopped dancing and hugged the maiden close to him.

Author: Shirley G. Webb

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 9780595340224

Category: Juvenile Fiction

Page: 212

View: 991

Deborah Howell's daughter and granddaughter continue the saga of the Howell women and their quest for true love while they discover, at last, the cause of the family torment for three generations. "How do you describe a story that is poignant and romantic yet laced with intrigue and tragedy? Dance in the Rain is truly written from the heart, the stuff of classics, woven from the threads of myth into a gripping and powerful love story with a lesson for us all." -John Prophet, Author, Casey Miller Mystery Series "Dance in the Rain is a well-woven scenario of human passions set against the fascinating backdrop of Cherokee culture. Victoria, Hawk, Olivia, and Brad, their tragedies, romances and joys, catch the cadence and power of the story and teach us lessons it's never too late to learn." -Eleanor Sampeck, author of Seasons of Love: A Journey of Faith, Family and Community
Categories: Juvenile Fiction

The Mountainway of the Navajo

The Mountainway of the Navajo

From the other side someone spoke to her , “ Bad people dwell here , the home of Changing Bear Maiden is here ! Whence did you come ? ” the person asked her . “ What about you , where is your home that you are here ? " she asked him .

Author: Leland C. Wyman

Publisher: University of Arizona Press

ISBN: 9780816540228

Category: Social Science

Page: 288

View: 709

Comprehensive examination of a Navajo song ceremonial and its various branches, phases, and ritual. Includes a myth of the female branch recorded and translated by Father Berard Haile, O.F.M., 32 illustrations of Mountainway sandpaintings, with detailed analysis of their symbols and designs.
Categories: Social Science

Raincrow

Raincrow

“Many, many moons ago, there was a young Indian maiden named Crow Woman, and a young brave named Claw of the Bear. As children they fell in love. ... Blue Wing, the medicine man was jealous, and convinced the clan her medicine was evil.

Author: JB Hamilton Queen; Louie Dillon

Publisher: iUniverse

ISBN: 9781440181795

Category: Fiction

Page: 452

View: 468

The raincrows’ warning rode upon a chill wind down the Kentucky mountainside to Katelin Stone that Indian Summer day. The rain would come, and her world as she knew it would end. There would be a new beginning for her. Her mother’s death sets into motion the events that become her hell. Her father’s surprise marriage brings into their home a calculating and money-grabbing woman and her troubled teenage son, who terrorizes Katelin with vicious attacks and cold-bloodied threats that force her to forsake Walter, her true love, and at sixteen to marry a man she hardly knows. Her abusive marriage becomes her prison. She secrets her dreams and her love for Walter in a broken heart and almost loses herself after the consecutive deaths of her twin babies. Nurtured by loving friends, she finds renewed strength to escape her marriage and fulfill the promise made to her dying mother. But will she have the strength to overcome the paralyzing fear that keeps her from Walter’s arms? “Southern fiction of often described as having a powerful sense of place. Acclaimed author and North Carolina’s past Poet Laureate Fred Chappell defined Southern fiction as having eight elements: A deep involvement in place; family bonds; a celebration of eccentricity; a strong narrative voice; themes of racial guilt, human endurance, and local tradition; a sense of impending loss; a pervasive sense of humor in the face of tragedy; and an inability to leave the past behind. With precision and authenticity, JB Hamilton Queen and Louie Dillon cover all that ground in their first novel, Raincrow.” – Madonna Dries Christensen– Author of Swinging Sisters and Masquerade; The Swindler Who Conned J. Edgar Hoover “Their writing is professional and inventive. Collaborative imagination is rare, but they pull it off.” – Stuart M. Kaminsky–Mystery Writers of America Grand Master, Edgar winner, and author of more than fifty mystery novels.
Categories: Fiction

Threadbare Tales

Threadbare Tales

Bitter cold wind whipped through trees and circled the Bear Man and his horse. ... He stepped outside back into the rain where a beautiful young maiden laid on the ground as the tree began to plummet to the earth.

Author: Stephanie Firth

Publisher: Lulu.com

ISBN: 9781326066130

Category: Fiction

Page: 74

View: 451

""To be innocent is dangerous"" A collection of fairy tales twisted inside out for your pleasure. This adult collection of stories told to us as children reveals the harsh truth of peasant life, as well as lust, love, sex and murder. Beware witches and wolves...
Categories: Fiction

A Maiden s Grave

A Maiden s Grave

Bear reached forward and touched her hair. The back of his hand, a gentle stroke. A lover's or father's touch. And whatever strength was within Melanie vanished in that instant. Bear grabbed them by the collars and dragged them back ...

Author: Jeffery Deaver

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 9781101209356

Category: Fiction

Page: 544

View: 867

A bus full of children is taken hostage in this “screaming hit” (The New York Times Book Review) from the bestselling author of The Never Game and The Bone Collector. Along a windswept Kansas road, eight vulnerable girls and their helpless teachers are forced off a school bus and held hostage in an abandoned slaughterhouse. The madman who has them at gunpoint has a simple plan: One hostage an hour will die unless the demands are met. Called to the scene is Arthur Potter, the FBI’s best hostage negotiator. He has a plan. But so does one of the hostages—a beautiful teacher who’s willing to do anything to save the lives of her students. Now the clock is ticking as a chilling game of cat and mouse begins.
Categories: Fiction

The Wellesley Prelude

The Wellesley Prelude

Adapting rhapsodies on St. Mark's to the rain , his Ruskin unread beside him . ... It doesn't satisfy a man Maiden May , with laughing smile , ( Fred was just Bear with me a little while ! twenty ) — and , Barbara , I don't know of any ...

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: HARVARD:HXPMX1

Category:

Page:

View: 771

Categories:

The Secrets of the Mist Witches

The Secrets of the Mist Witches

In another legend, the Mist Maiden tells her sister Hine-wai to stay by the water, and the Rain Maiden had a duty to ... The Tūhoe people, a Maori tribe, also bear the sobriquet "Nga Tamariki o te Kohu", which means: "the children of ...

Author: Gunivortus Goos

Publisher: BoD – Books on Demand

ISBN: 9783756297092

Category: Fiction

Page: 256

View: 456

The German term "Nebelhexe" (Mist Witch) is no longer an unknown word, you can find it in many places: In ghost stories, in books for children and grown-ups, it is used in comics and plays, as well as in poetry, as picture descriptions, and in fantasy- and role-playing games. A musician used it as her artist name, and as a pseudonym it is also used more and more often on the Internet. It is even used in recipes, as a type of beer, and as the name of a well-known tourist destination. The underlying customs and folk knowledge, including many folk tales from past centuries about the fog creatures from mainly the German-Dutch border area is presented here. In the book the dialect term "Witte Wieven" in this or similar spellings is often used for these supernatural mist women, who often have their dwellings in small hills or waters. By means of background information, collected customs and folk knowledge, more than 80 folk tales, some fictional but exciting stories and many decorative illustrations in color these fog creatures are presented here, but in a chapter of its own it also gives due attention to similar beings from other parts of the world.
Categories: Fiction