Trespassing in God s Country

Trespassing in God s Country

This series of stories chronicles his many adventures from Alaska to Labrador, including seal and whale hunting with native people. .

Author: George Theriault

Publisher: 1st World Publishing

ISBN: 1887472460

Category: Travel

Page: 200

View: 629

George Theriault has been flying in northern Canada since the summer of 1934. When he established his own air service in in 1954, his skills as a bush pilot and sportsman made him one of the most popular outfitters in northern Ontario. This series of stories chronicles his many adventures from Alaska to Labrador, including seal and whale hunting with native people. .
Categories: Travel

Beaverhead Deerlodge National Forest N F Salmon Challis National Forest N F for a Proposed Lemhi Pass National Historic Landmark Management Plan

Beaverhead Deerlodge National Forest  N F    Salmon Challis National Forest  N F    for a Proposed Lemhi Pass National Historic Landmark  Management Plan

Lemhi Pass is magnificent and so historical . - S. & J. R. , Atlanta , GA , 6/16/00 Not a sound except the whispering pines . Such peace in a turbulent world ... M. & G. B. , Soda Springs , ID , 5/27/00 Trespassing in " God's Country .

Author:

Publisher:

ISBN: NWU:35556033435355

Category:

Page:

View: 221

Categories:

The Gods of Indian Country

The Gods of Indian Country

In June 1894, they penned another petition citing the government's failure to stop white intruders from trespassing on reservation lands. They sent more petitions over the next several years. They also tried to negotiate in other ways.

Author: Jennifer Graber

Publisher: Oxford University Press

ISBN: 9780190279622

Category: Religion

Page: 304

View: 713

During the nineteenth century, white Americans sought the cultural transformation and physical displacement of Native people. Though this process was certainly a clash of rival economic systems and racial ideologies, it was also a profound spiritual struggle. The fight over Indian Country sparked religious crises among both Natives and Americans. In The Gods of Indian Country, Jennifer Graber tells the story of the Kiowa Indians during Anglo-Americans' hundred-year effort to seize their homeland. Like Native people across the American West, Kiowas had known struggle and dislocation before. But the forces bearing down on them-soldiers, missionaries, and government officials-were unrelenting. With pressure mounting, Kiowas adapted their ritual practices in the hope that they could use sacred power to save their lands and community. Against the Kiowas stood Protestant and Catholic leaders, missionaries, and reformers who hoped to remake Indian Country. These activists saw themselves as the Indians' friends, teachers, and protectors. They also asserted the primacy of white Christian civilization and the need to transform the spiritual and material lives of Native people. When Kiowas and other Native people resisted their designs, these Christians supported policies that broke treaties and appropriated Indian lands. They argued that the gifts bestowed by Christianity and civilization outweighed the pains that accompanied the denial of freedoms, the destruction of communities, and the theft of resources. In order to secure Indian Country and control indigenous populations, Christian activists sanctified the economic and racial hierarchies of their day. The Gods of Indian Country tells a complex, fascinating-and ultimately heartbreaking-tale of the struggle for the American West.
Categories: Religion

Polar Winds

Polar Winds

Shaw, S. Bernard. ... Smith, Shirleen and Vuntut Gwitchin First Nation. People of the Lakes: Stories of Our Van Tat Gwich'in Elders ... Trespassing in God's Country: Sixty Years of Flying in Northern Canada. Chapleau, ON: Treeline Pub., ...

Author: Danielle Metcalfe-Chenail

Publisher: Dundurn

ISBN: 9781459723825

Category: Transportation

Page: 224

View: 738

With historical research and rare interviews, explore the highs and lows of aviation north of the 60th parallel. This journey takes readers from hot air balloons above the Klondike gold fields, to international bids for the North Pole, to high-profile crashes and search-and-rescue operations.
Categories: Transportation

When Gods Fail I

When Gods Fail I

“Don't mean to be trespassing on your property, sir, but do you have a phone or some food and water,” I stopped when his ... resembling an archaeologist more than some country resident, that I was certain he was scared for his life.

Author: Nelson Lowhim

Publisher: Eiso Publishing

ISBN:

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 976

Categories: Fiction

God s Country

God s Country

You'd only see the rare sight of a bear hunter or a crazy kayaker on occasion out this deep in God's country. ... Red tried putting up “No Trespassing” signs but it never kept out that occasional hunter or kayaker that got a wild hair ...

Author: Christopher Scott Tremblay

Publisher: Simon and Schuster

ISBN: 9781611603286

Category: Fiction

Page: 52

View: 485

Brothers Shane and Tommy set out on a weekend trip deep into the heart of "God's Country" in the Appalachian Mountains of West Virginia. They're in search of a big water kayaking adventure. Instead they stumble across a terrorist super cell plotting an attack on the nation's capital. Suddenly they find themselves in a race for their lives.
Categories: Fiction

By the Grace of the Gods Volume 10

By the Grace of the Gods  Volume 10

Nowadays, privacy and protection of personal information is a serious matter, even in the divine realm. ... Gain explained why they were trespassing on Earth's divine realm, encouraged by Yokota's humility. “Thank you.

Author: Roy

Publisher: J-Novel Club

ISBN: 9781718369160

Category: Young Adult Fiction

Page:

View: 685

Ryoma returns to Gimul after his successful business retreat, having discovered and evolved new slimes and found uses for them along the way. Unfortunately, crime has skyrocketed in Gimul during his absence, to the point where even the familiar Morgan Company has suffered an arson attack. Ryoma attends a meeting of small business owners in the city to address the rapid increase in crime, but when the host of the conference appears untrustworthy, Ryoma decides to take a stand against the supposed crime stoppers to protect his shop, employees, and Gimul itself. Another new volume of slow life in a fantasy world for Ryoma, with all-new slimes and all-new magic at his disposal!
Categories: Young Adult Fiction

Changing Places

Changing Places

114 Theriault, Trespassing in God's Country: Sixty Years of Flying in Northern Canada, 88. 115 Indian Affairs Branch, Department of Mines and Resources, annual reports for 1942 and 1943, pp. 133 and 146, respectively.

Author: Kerry M. Abel

Publisher: McGill-Queen's Press - MQUP

ISBN: 9780773530386

Category: History

Page: 519

View: 921

The community of Aboriginal groups and fur trade society that had initially developed at Porcupine-Iroquois Falls (c. 1660-1905) was displaced early in the twentieth century by newcomers drawn to the opportunities offered by mining, agriculture, and pulp and paper production. The newcomers came from a wide variety of cultural backgrounds, which led to divisions in the towns and villages they created. By the mid twentieth century, however, a community identity had been built on shared experience, hostility to the "South" and particular ethnic groups, and an imagined sense of northern uniqueness.
Categories: History

The Bridesmaid

The Bridesmaid

I felt a surge of power that I had been able to assert myself and I felt I was probably above this traveller boy and although I didn't own the land, I was allowed to be here and he wasn't. 'I ain't trespassing. This is God's country ...

Author: Nina Manning

Publisher: Boldwood Books Ltd

ISBN: 9781801621977

Category: Fiction

Page:

View: 604

Your best friend. Your worst nightmare... From the moment they met as children, Sasha knew that beautiful, wealthy, and confident Caitlin would always be her absolute best friend. Sasha would do anything to make Caitlin happy. Even keep her darkest secrets... The years have passed, but their friendship remains. And when Caitlin announces she’s getting married there is only one choice for the role of bridesmaid. Sasha will make sure Caitlin’s wedding is as beautiful and perfect as she is. Won’t she? But as the big day approaches, cracks begin to appear. Because no matter what Sasha does, she never seems to make Caitlin happy. And the secrets that once bound these two friends, now threaten to rip them apart for good... Pre-order the brand new psychological thriller from international bestseller Nina Manning. Perfect for fans of The Perfect Couple and His Wife's Sister. Praise for Nina Manning: 'Heart-stopping, pacy and tension filled. Highly recommended.' Claire Allan, USA Today Bestseller 'Compelling and claustrophobic, Nina is an exciting new voice and definitely one to watch' Phoebe Morgan, author of The Babysitter 'Chilling and creepy. An atmospheric and addictive debut.' Diane Jeffrey, author of The Guilty Mother 'Totally addictive. I couldn't put it down!' Darren O'Sullivan, author of Closer Than You Think 'A claustrophobic, nail-biting thriller that draws you in and doesn't let go.' Naomi Joy, author of The Liars ‘Clever, emotionally draining and totally gripping. I absolutely loved this book!’ D E White, author of The Forgotten Child
Categories: Fiction

The Chain

The Chain

ences aside to help build our country together. But God is above all, and His Majesty's view of real freedom is different from our views; and in His Majesty's sight, real freedom is the freedom from your guilt; and that makes all the ...

Author: Samir Edward Morcos

Publisher: Strategic Book Publishing

ISBN: 9781609113223

Category: Philosophy

Page: 570

View: 469

Should wisdom be judged by the answers we give to life's greatest questions? Or conversely, should wisdom be judged by the profundity of our questions? In The Chain, author Samir Morcos inspires us to begin our search for insight by first acknowledging our ignorance. He then guides us through the philosophical and theological maze he refers to as a puzzle. One piece of the puzzle may trigger us to question how our bodily form came into existence. Another piece may activate our curiosity about the ebb and flow of the ocean's tides. Everywhere we look, from the color of our eyes to the people in our lives, we see questions, and we are propelled by our inner longing to seek satisfying answers. The Chain reveals startling revelations about age-old reflections. It takes its readers on the journey of their lives-and beyond Life challenges inspired author Samir Edward Morcos to become intensely interested in some tough topics, like guilt, evil, and truth. His drive to unravel the uncertainty of the universe, and to share what he has learned, impelled him to write The Chain. While he lives in the real world, he is inspired by the ethereal.The Chain will clear your confusion through logic, wisdom, and knowledge. Morcos was born in Cairo, Egypt, and now lives in Fairfax, Virginia. Publisher's website: http: //www.strategicpublishinggroup.com/title/TheChain.htm
Categories: Philosophy